Home Sport GAA Laois annihilate Antrim to reach Round 2 of the Leinster minor hurling...

Laois annihilate Antrim to reach Round 2 of the Leinster minor hurling championship

Laois minor hurling team

Laois 6-20 Antrim 0-14
Electric Ireland Leinster Minor Hurling Championship Tier 2 Round 3

The Laois minor hurlers have eased into Round 2 of the Leinster championship after crushing Antrim in Swords this afternoon.

Following wins over Westmeath and Kildare, Enda Lyons’ men knew a victory here today would see them finish top of Tier 2 and seal a place in Round 2.

Kildare, Westmeath, Antrim, Down, Meath and Carlow will now play against each other in Round 1 with three winners from those games joining Laois in Round 2 which will take place on May 25.

Laois had this game wrapped up by half time with three goals in the first 15 minutes.

Adam Kirwan, who got a crucial goal last weekend in the comeback win over Kildare, grabbed the first while Rathdowney-Errill’s Padraig Rafter, who was making his debut, smashed home the second.

Camross’s Daniel Delaney scored the third after 15 minutes and those three players also scored three points each in the first half.

Captain Tadhg Cuddy, his midfield partner Tomas Keyes and Rosenallis’ David Dooley also pointed as Laois led 3-12 to 0-6 at half time.

The second half was also just going to be about seeing out the win and indeed the only blotch on Laois’s copybook was the dismissal of corner back Lawson Obular following a second yellow card.

Antrim were more competitive in the second half but they too would have a player sent off and Laois finished the game strongly.

Adam Kirwan, Tadhg Cuddy, Noah Quinlan and Fionan Mahoney all raised white flags while substitute Cathal O’Shaughnessy rattled the Antrim net for a fourth time.

That goal seemed to crush Antrim’s resistance and Laois added two more in the closing ten minutes. Substitute DJ Callaghan got the first of them with full forward David Dooley helping himself to the second.

In the end, Laois ran out very convincing 24 point winners.

SCORERS – LAOIS: Adam Kirwan 1-4, David Dooley, Padraig Rafter and Daniel Delaney 1-3 each, Cathal O’Shaughnessy 1-1, DJ Callaghan 1-0, Noah Quinlan and Tadhg Cuddy 0-2 each, Tomas Keyes and Fionan Mahoney 0-1 each

LAOIS: Darragh Lyons (Ballyfin); Lawson Obular (St Lazerian’s Abbeyleix), Danny Brennan (Park-Ratheniska-Timahoe), Ian Shanahan (Ballinakill); Cian Conroy (Clonaslee St Manman’s), Fionan Mahony (St Lazerian’s Abbeyleix), Brian Bredin (Mountrath); Tomas Keyes (Camross), Tadhg Cuddy (Castletown); James Duggan (The Harps), Dan Delaney (Camross) Noah Quinlan (Borris-Kilcotton); Adam Kirwan (Mountrath), David Dooley (Rosenallis), Padraig Rafter (Rathdowney-Errill). Subs: Ned Fitzpatrick (Abbeyleix) for Shanahan (43), Cathal O’Shaughnessy (Ballinakill) for Delaney (46), Eoin Naughten (Portlaoise) for Rafter (48), DJ Callaghan (Clonaslee) for Kirwan (50), Kevin Mulhall (Clough-Ballacolla) for Quinlan (54)

Referee: Conor Daly

SEE ALSO – Laois man completes Vancouver marathon for Pieta House in honour of Portlaoise cousin

Previous articleGood Week, Bad Week: Leinster glory, new schools and comeback kings
Next articleLIVE BLOG: Follow all the action as Laois open Joe McDonagh Cup campaign v Offaly
Stradbally native Alan Hartnett is a graduate of Knockbeg College who has worked in the local and national media since 2008. Alan has a BA in Economics, Politics and Law and an MA in Journalism from DCU. His happiest moment was when Jody Dillon scored THAT goal in the Laois senior football final in 2016.