Home Sport GAA Five-star Kilkenny end Laois U-20 hurlers Leinster campaign at first hurdle

Five-star Kilkenny end Laois U-20 hurlers Leinster campaign at first hurdle

Laois U-20 hurling team

Laois 0-10 Kilkenny 5-21
Electric Ireland Leinster U-20 Hurling Championship Quarter Final

The Laois U-20 hurlers suffered a heavy defeat in the Leinster championship quarter final in O’Moore Park this evening.

Laois battled very well in the first half but with Daniel Comerford operating as a sweeper, they lacked any goal threat as Conor Cosgrove remained isolated in the full forward line.

He was taken off at half time and the floodgates then opened as Kilkenny scored 3-13 in the second half to ease to victory.

DJ Carey’s Kilkenny got the game’s first three points with Niall Brassil landing a brace and Eoin O’Shea hitting another as a nervous looking Laois hit three wides.

Padraig Delaney finally opened Laois’s account after ten minutes and while Kilkenny senior Adrian Mullen hit another, Camross’ Eoin Gaughan landed two points to cut the margin to one after 11 minutes.

Laois were really competing well now with Gaughan, Ciaran Comerford and Brandon McGinley winning plenty of ball in the air.

But they were rattled after 12 minutes when James Bergin blasted through the Laois defence to score the game’s opening goal.

Laois responded through James Keyes but the ball was in the Laois net again after 19 minutes with Adrian Mullen cutting them open again to beat keeper Paudie McDonald from the angle.

In fairness to Laois though they stuck to their task well for the remainder of the half as Eoin Gaughan kept their side of the scoreboard ticking – but so too did Niall Brassil as Kilkenny took a 2-8 to 0-6 lead into the break.

Laois started the second well with a Diarmuid Conway point and then almost had a goal when, with keeper Dean Mason beaten, Conor Cosgrove’s shot just went wide.

Gaughan hit another free but Kilkennt resumed control as Niall Brassil and Evan Shefflin pointed before they got a rather fortuitous third goal with 45 minutes on the clock.

A long range Niall Brassil shot came back off the crossbar where Adrian Mullen was on hand to smash the ball into the top corner of the net.

Eoin O’Shea, Brassil and Stephen Donnelly and sub Aaron Brennan extended Kilkenny’s lead while a Joe Bergin point tried to keep Laois in touch but the game really got away from them from here.

Kilkenny got two more goals through Stephen Donnelly and substitute Sean Ryan while they fired over a flurry of points to leave 26 between them at the finish.

SCORERS – LAOIS: Eoin Gaughan 0-6 (four frees), Padraig Delaney 0-1 (one free), James Keyes 0-1, Diarmuid Conway 0-1, Joe Bergin 0-1 KILKENNY: Eoin O’Shea 0-2, Niall Brassil 0-7 (five frees), Eoin Cody 0-4, James Bergin 1-0, Adrian Mullen 2-0, Evan Shefflin 0-3, Stephen Donnelly 1-1, Aaron Brennan 0-1, Sean Ryan 1-0, Jordan Molloy 0-1, David Blanchfield 0-1, Ciaran Brennan 0-1

LAOIS: Paudie McDonald (Colt); John Maher (Rosenallis), Ryan Murphy (Galmoy), Liam Senior (Captain) (Clonaslee St Manman’s); Padraig Dunne (The Harps), Padraig Delaney (The Harps), Allan Connolly (Ballyfin); James Keyes (Colt), Diarmuid Conway (Clough-Ballacolla); Eoin Gaughan (Camross), Daniel Comerford (The Harps), Ciaran Comerford (The Harps); Brandon McGinley (Rathdowney-Errill), Conor Cosgrove (Rosenallis), Joe Phelan (Castletown). Subs: Eoin Dowling (Camross) for D Comerford (ht), Mark Hennessy (Clough-Ballacolla) for Cosgrove (40), Cormac Rigney (Portlaoise) for McGinley and Oisin Bennett (Camross) for Connolly (52), Thep Fitzpatrick (Rathdowney-Errill) for Maher (57)

KILKENNY: Dean Mason (Ballyhale Shamrocks); Tommy Ronan (Graigue-Ballycallan), Conor Flynn (Graigue-Ballycallan), Mikey Butler (O’Loughlin Gaels); Conor Heary (O’Loughlin Gaels), Michael Carey (Young Irelands), David Blanchfield (Bennettsbridge); John Dowd (Erin’s Own), Evan Shefflin (Ballyhale Shamrocks – captain); Eoin O’Shea (O’Loughlin Gaels), Niall Brassil (James Stephens), Adrian Mullen (Ballyhale Shamrocks); Stephen Donnelly (Thomastown), James Bergin (Clara), Eoin Cody (Ballyhale Shamrocks). Subs: Aaron Brennan (Graigue-Ballycallan) for Dowd (42), Ciaran Brennan (Bennettsbridge) for Bergin (49), Sean Ryan (Graigue-Ballyacallan) for Mullen (51), James Brennan (Erin’s Own) for Heary (53), Jordan Molloy (O’Loughlin Gaels) for O’Shea (54)

REFEREE: Richie Fitzsimons (Offaly)

SEE ALSO – Incredible line up announced at Lilly’s Bar for Old Fort Festival – as new nightclub set to open

Previous articleLIVE BLOG: Follow all the action as Laois U-20 hurlers face Kilkenny in Leinster quarter final
Next articleFolly Festival in Cullohill is back as they continue to team up with Electric Picnic organisers
Stradbally native Alan Hartnett is a graduate of Knockbeg College who has worked in the local and national media since 2008. Alan has a BA in Economics, Politics and Law and an MA in Journalism from DCU. His happiest moment was when Jody Dillon scored THAT goal in the Laois senior football final in 2016.