Home Sport GAA ANNOUNCED: The starting Laois hurling team for the Joe McDonagh Cup final

ANNOUNCED: The starting Laois hurling team for the Joe McDonagh Cup final

Photo: Paul Dargan

Brought to you in association with Paddy O’s Cereals

Laois hurling manager Eddie Brennan starting 15 for the Joe McDonagh Cup Final has been announced this evening.

The countdown to the Laois senior hurlers’ first appearance in Croke Park since 2005 and the first final appearance in GAA HQ since 1985 is almost complete.

Laois booked their final place with a game to spare thanks to wins over Offaly, Antrim and Kerry.

It meant their final group game against Westmeath didn’t matter and they fielded a much-changed side and earned a draw.

It has been an extremely busy week around the county, between school visits, club visits and ticket announcements.

Mark Kavanagh has been named to start after missing the two past games between Kerry and Westmeath, while Lee Cleere makes a start in the full-back line.

LAOIS: Enda Rowland (St Lazerian’s Abbeyleix); Lee Cleere (Clough-Ballacolla), Matthew Whelan (Borris-Kilcotton), Donnacha Hartnett (Mountmellick); Jack Kelly (Rathdowney-Errill) Ryan Mullaney (Castletown), Padraig Delaney (The Harps); John Lennon (Rosenallis) Paddy Purcell (Rathdowney-Errill); Aaron Dunphy (Borris-Kilcotton), Mark Kavanagh (Rathdowney-Errill), Stephen Maher (Clough-Ballacolla); Willie Dunphy (Clough-Ballacolla), Charles Dwyer (Ballinakill), Ross King (Rathdowney-Errill)

SEE ALSO – WATCH/LISTEN: Joe McDonagh Cup final preview as Laois hurlers set for Westmeath challenge

Previous articleIn Pictures: Scoil Mhuire Abbeyleix raise Active Flag with help from Laois hurling and camogie stars
Next articleCamross ease past Castletown to collect Palmer Cup and crucial division 1 win
Siún Lennon joined LaoisToday in a full-time capacity after studying Journalism and New Media in the University of Limerick. She hails from Rosenallis and her interests vary from news, sports and politics.