Home Sport GAA Russell points the way as Mountrath secure league success

Russell points the way as Mountrath secure league success

The Mountrath team that beat Camross in the ACHL Division 4 final on Saturday

Mountrath 0-16 Camross 0-14
Laois Shopping Centre ACHL Division 4 Final

Brandon Russell helped himself to 12 points as Mountrath got the betters of neighbours Camross in the ACHL Division 4 final in Slieve Bloom on Saturday evening.

Mountrath went in front in the first minute with a pointed free by sharp shooter Brandon Russell and he would go on to have a major input into the outcome of the game.

Camross opened their account with a pointed free by Dan Delaney and he was to have a big say in keeping the result in doubt until the last minute.

Camross went in front with a well struck point from play after four minutes but the next eight points between the two sides were all from the sharp shooters.

Mountrath defender Cormac O’Keefe broke the sequence with an excellent point from 70 metres.

Points from Kevin Lalor and Dan Delaney (free) saw Camross lead 0-8 to 0-6 at the interval.

Again on the resumption scores were swapped between the free takers  Dan Delaney extending the Camross advantage then at the other end Brandon Russell replied.

Mountrath had a great goal opportunity after 40 minutes but Niall Cuddy brought off a great save and Mountrath enjoyed a good spell scoring three points in quick succession and Brandon Russell edged them in front from a close in free.

Eleven minutes from the end Mountrath went three clear and Brandon Russell made it four three minutes later before Dan Delaney pulled one back at the other end.

Brandon Russell made no mistake with his 12th but Camross replied with two in as many minutes, one by Sean Higgins who had just come on and when Dan Delaney hit his tenth the minimum separated the sides with the game entering injury time.

Mountrath defender Cormack O’Keefe landed a superb point from play to restore two point advantage and despite their best efforts Camross could not breach the solid Mountrath defence and they held on for the victory.

After the game Tom Clear presented the cup to the winning captain Peadar Rice and paid tribute to both sides for a thoroughly entertaining and sporting contest – they now meet in the opening round of the Junior ‘B’ championship next week.

SCORERS – Mountrath: Brandon Russell 0-12, Cormac O’Keeffe and Michael Meade 0-2 each. Camross: Dan Delaney 0-10, Kevin Lalor, Joe Ryan, Niall Bennett and Sean Higgins 0-1 each

MOUNTRATH: Brian Russell; Killian Kirwan, Sean Maguire, Kevin Byrne; Tommy Hill, Peter Rice, Cormac O’Keefe; Aiden Lenihan, Gearoid Williams; Scott Hetherington, Michael  Meade, Brandon Russell; Collie Bergin, Andy Russell, Luke Cusack. Subs: Gary Brophy for L Cusack (45), Mick O’Brien for C Bergin (48)

CAMROSS: Niall Cuddy; Colin Palmer, Mark Conroy, Cian Delaney; Alan Bergin, James Doran, Gavin Delaney; Pat Burke, Tomas Palmer; Dan Delaney, Joe Ryan, James O’Keefe; Niall Bennett, Kevin Lalor, Robbie Delaney. Subs: Cillian Tiernan for T Palmer (38), Ollie Conroy for A Bergin (40), Sean Higgins for R Delaney (54)

REFEREE: Adrian McCartney (Clough-Ballacolla)

SEE ALSO – Ballyfin go the extra mile to claim Division 3 football title in classic