Home Sport Rugby Miller sisters set to clash as Leinster meet Connacht in Interprovincial Championship

Miller sisters set to clash as Leinster meet Connacht in Interprovincial Championship

Well this certainly isn’t something you’d see every day.

Two members of a legendary Laois sporting family are set to come head-to-head (hopefully just figuratively) as Leinster meet Connacht in the Women’s Interprovincial Championship.

The Millers will be a house halved on Saturday, with sisters Alison and Grace lining out for opposing teams, Connacht and Leinster, respectively.

Alison, who is a renowned figure in the world of Irish rugby, plays as a winger for Connacht, while younger sister Grace, also a winger, is making her Leinster debut.

Also appearing on the Connacht team is Laois native Tara Buggie, who plays for Galwegians.

Both Miller sisters play for Old Belvedere RFC in Dublin, and played together in their first ever game in April of this year.

Grace will be taking to the field on Saturday on the left wing on her interprovincial debut.

Alison, who announced her international retirement in March of this year, is involved as a player-coach this year and only recently got married to husband Alan earlier this month.

There’s no keeping her from the pitch for too long!

Leinster v Connacht kicks off at Energia Park today, Saturday August 17 at 5.30pm.

Leinster Rugby Women v Connacht Rugby – Women’s Interprovincial Championship

15. Larissa Muldoon (Railway Union RFC) *
14. Megan Williams (Old Belvedere RFC)
13. Elise O’Byrne-White (Old Belvedere RFC)
12. Michelle Claffey (Blackrock College RFC)
11. Grace Miller (Old Belvedere RFC) *
10. Sene Naoupu (Old Belvedere RFC) CAPTAIN
9. Ailsa Hughes (Railway Union RFC)
1. Lindsay Peat (Railway Union RFC)
2. Chloe Blackmore (Railway Union RFC)
3. Linda Djougang (Old Belvedere RFC)
4. Clodagh Dunne (Old Belvedere RFC) *
5. Elaine Anthony (Old Belvedere RFC) *
6. Juliet Short (Railway Union RFC)
7. Niamh Ní Dhroma (Old Belvedere RFC) *
8. Hannah O’Connor (Blackrock College RFC)

16. Lisa Callan (Railway Union RFC) *
17. Christy Haney (Blackrock College RFC)
18. Katie O’Dwyer (Railway Union RFC)
19. Daisy Earle (Railway Union RFC) *
20. Rachel Horan (CYM RFC)
21. Molly Scuffil-McCabe (Railway Union RFC) *
22. Gemma Matthews (Old Belvedere RFC)
23. Meabh O’Brien (Suttonians RFC)

Connacht Rugby Women v Leinster Rugby – Women’s Interprovincial Championship

Lily Brady (Westport), Aisling Brosnan (Carlow), Tara Buggie (Galwegians), Lisa Carroll (Westport), Rachel Cox (Westport), Mairead Coyne (Galwegians), Meabh Deely (Ballinasloe), Orla Dixon (Galwegians), Ciara Farrell (Tullamore), Laura Feely (Galwegians), Nicole Fowley (Galwegians), Nichola Fryday (Galwegians), Rebecca Gavin (Westport), Moya Griffin (Tullamore), Mary Healy (Galwegians), Shannen Lane (Galwegians), Catherine Martin (Suttonians), Edel McMahon (Galwegians), Elizabeth McNicholas (Tuam), Alison Miller (Old Belvedere), Hazel Moran (Westport), Katie Murray (Tullamore), Aifric O’Brien (Suttonians), Alex O’Brien (Tullow), Anne-Marie O’Hora (Galwegians), Beibhinn Parsons (Ballinasloe), Ursula Sammon (Galwegians), Denise Redmond (Galwegians), Aoibheann Reilly (Ballinasloe), Shannon Touhey (Galwegians RFC).

SEE ALSO – O’Dempsey’s appeal as Division 1 league title awarded to Portlaoise