Home Sport GAA Corbet holds his nerve as West Laois take step closer to winning...

Corbet holds his nerve as West Laois take step closer to winning Divisional Football title

West 2-10 North 2-9
Laois Divisional Football Competition Round 2

West Laois are in pole position heading into the final round of games in the Laois Divisional Football competition following a hard-fought win over the North in Anannough this evening.

The double header of games took place in the Vicarstown grounds this evening as the original venue of Crettyard was unplayable.

And the West Laois combination (which comprises the likes of Emo, Clonaslee, Mountmellick and Rosenallis as well as players from some of the hurling clubs) came from behind to beat the North (who could call on players from Portarlington, O’Dempsey’s, The Heath, Annanough and Courtwood).

The West lads now have two wins from two games and will need just a draw in the final round of games to claim the honours.

They trailed by six points at half time but staged a great second-half comeback – with three late points in a row from Clonaslee’s Niall Corbet helping them to a one-point win.

A Paddy O’Sullivan goal had helped the North to a 1-6 to 0-4 lead at the break.

But a scrambled goal from Emo’s Jack Owens brought the West back into the game and they played some fine football with Shane Murphy levelling the game with their second goal.

A brilliant strike from Courtwood’s Danny Luttrell nudged the North back into the lead with four minutes remaining but Corbet held his nerve to nail a couple of late frees and the West held on for a fine win.

SCORERS – North: Danny Luttrell 1-2, Paddy O’Sullivan 1-0, Barry Kelly 0-3 (one free), Mark Barry 0-1, Jake Foster 0-2, Alan Kinsella 0-1, . West: Niall Corbett 0-6  Jack Owens (Emo) 1-1, Shane Murphy 1-0, Jack Priestley 0-2, James O’Rourke 0-1

WEST: Eoin Keogh (Mountmellick); Shane Murphy (Emo), George Lanham (Ballyfin), Jack Owens (Clonaslee); Darren Strong (Emo), Brian Gorman (Emo), Darragh Connolly (Ballyfin); James Finn (Ballyfin), Colm Coss (Mountmellick); Jack Owens (Emo), Nigel Murphy (Emo), Niall Corbet (Clonaslee); Jack Priestley (Ballyfin), Jordan Walshe (Clough-Ballacolla), Sean O’Neill (The Rock). Subs: Adam McDermott (Rosenallis), James O’Rourke (Emo), Brendan Reddin (Castletown), Joey Shelley (Rosenallis), Bob Downey (Clonaslee)

NORTH: Joe Walsh (The Heath); Cormac O’Hora (O’Dempsey’s), Mark O’Halloran (Courtwood), Alan Whelan (The Heath); Ciaran Booth (The Heath), Shane Nerney (O’Dempsey’s), Conor Hogan (Courtwood); Robbie Pigott (Portarlington), Paddy O’Sullivan (Portarlington); Killian Horgan (Annanough), Barry Kelly (O’Dempsey’s), Barry Howlin (O’Dempsey’s); Mark Barry (O’Dempsey’s), Alan Kinsella (Courtwood), Jake Foster (Portarlington). Subs: Danny Luttrell (Courtwood), Damien McCaul (Annanough), Scott Osbourne (Portarlington), Luke Doyle (Courtwood), Conor Donlon (Annanough)

East 2-16 South 2-6
Laois Divisional Football Competition Round 2

Reigning champions East Laois got back to winning ways with a comfortable win over their South counterparts in the first of the two games this evening in Annanough.

St Joseph’s Brian Daly helped himself to nine points in an impressive display while his clubmate Dylan Doyle hit 1-2.

The East had lost their opening round game to West Laois (the likes of Emo, Ballyfin, Mountmellick etc) but bounced back in style here.

Dylan Doyle and Stradbally’s Garry Comerford – back playing Gaelic football again after a couple of seasons playing League of Ireland soccer with the likes of Cork City and Waterford Utd – got their first-half goals as they led 2-8 to 1-3 at the break.

Crettyard’s Pa Reilly got the South’s first-half goal while Graiguecullen’s Ross Hennessy hit the back of the net in the second half.

The East side now have a chance of winning the competition should they beat North Laois in the final round of games next weekend while the South are out of contention following two straight losses but will play West Laois in their final game.

SCORERS – East: Brian Daly 0-9 (two ’45s), Dylan Doyle 1-2, Garry Comerford 1-0, Cathal Doyle 0-2, Alan Farrell 0-1, Podge Dunne 0-1, Mikey Dempsey 0-1. South: David Aston 0-3, Pa Reilly 1-0, Ross Hennessy 0-1, Conor Keightley 0-1, Cormac Murphy 0-1
EAST: Wayne Comerford (Stradbally); Aaron Carroll (Ballyroan-Abbey), Adam Campion (St Joseph’s), Liam Knowles (Stradbally); Jack Lacey (St Joseph’s), Eoin Buggie (Stradbally), Dean Brophy (St Joseph’s); Cathal Doyle (Ballylinan-Abbey), Alan Farrell (Ballylinan); Mikie Dempsey (St Joseph’s), Brian Daly (St Joseph’s), Padraig Dunne (Park-Ratheniska); Garry Comerford (Stradbally), Dylan Doyle (St Joseph’s), Diarmuid Whelan (Ballylinan-Abbey). Subs: Gavin Tynan (Ballyroan-Abbey), Richie Hitchcock (Park-Ratheniska), Kevin Byrne (Ballylinan), James O’Connor (Timahoe), Ciaran Farrell (Ballylinan)
SOUTH: Daire Phelan (Barrowhouse); Luke Alsybury (Graiguecullen), Martin Doyle (Graiguecullen), Cialann Mulhall (Arles-Kilcruise); Podge Lawlor (Spink), Trevor Collins (Graiguecullen), Conor Mulhall (Crettyard); Pa O’Reilly (Crettyard), Michael Doran (Killeshin); Brian Byrne (Graiguecullen), Evan O’Carroll), David Aston (Killeshin); Cormac Murphy (Crettyard), Aaron Forbes (Graiguecullen), Conor Keightley (Arles-Killeen). Subs: Ross Hennessy (Graiguecullen), Paul Simms (Ballyfin), Luke Malone (Barrowhouse), James Brennan (Barrowhouse)

SEE ALSO – Wins for the North and the West in the opening round of Divisional Football Competition