Home Sport GAA Introducing the 2019 LaoisToday Minor football Team of the Year

Introducing the 2019 LaoisToday Minor football Team of the Year

The Minor Football Championship came to a conclusion back in October as Emo-Courtwood defeated Ballyroan-Abbey to claim the cup.

Ballyroan-Abbey were going for two in a row after ending a 47 year wait for minor glory in 2018.

The sides met in Round 1 of the championship with Ballyroan-Abbey winning comfortably – scoring seven goals.

But there was a dramatic turn around in the final with Emo-Courtwood winning 2-13 to 2-12 in the end.

And they became just the fourth ever winners of this competition with the second time that they have won it following St Paul’s/The Rock’s triumph in 2017.

Emo-Courtwood lead the way on our Team of the Year with eight spots while defeated finalists Ballyroan-Abbey have three.

A total of four clubs are represented and you can check it out below:

1 – Sam Krebs (Courtwood)

Sam Krebs pictured middle after the Minor 2019 final.

Krebs stole the show in goals in this years Minor final making an outstanding penalty save along with countless other vital stops to help Emo – Courtwood to victory.

He is minor again next year and should find himself as the number one.

2 – Eddie Critchley (Portlaoise)

Eddie Critchley (Number 8) with his Portlaoise team mates

This versatile defender operated mainly at centre back for Portlaoise in their Minor campaign which came to an end at the semi-final stage.

They did bag a league title along the way though with a win over Park-Ratheniska-Spink.

3 – Tommy Keegan (Emo)

The Emo Captain operated at full back in the Minor final and had an outstanding performance.

He is a really sticky player who performed well throughout the championship.

4 – Nathan Little (Courtwood)

Nathan Little and Paul OFlynn

The versatile player can play anywhere around the defence and midfield, operated at centre back in this year’s county final and was excellent throughout.

Another one on the Courtwood production line who will give them a boost at senior level in 2020.

5 – Kevin Swayne (Portlaoise)

Kevin Swayne (right)

A player capable of playing in half back and forward lines along with midfield, Swayne was another important member of the Portlaoise team who reached the semi final.

He also performed well for the Laois minors this year too.

6 – Sean Greene (Emo)

Man of the match Sean Greene with Laois PRO Pat O’Sullivan

Emo’s Sean Greene played midfield in this years Minor final and was instrumental to the team throughout the year.

The Laois minor captain, he later went on to win the man of the match award in the U-20 football final which Courtwood-Emo won.

7 – Shaun Fitzpatrick (Ballyroan-Abbey)

The Ballyroan-Abbey half back was named in this team last year and still has another full year of minor.

He was a good performer for the Ballyroan-Abbey side who narrowly missed out on back-to-back titles this year.

8 – Tom Fennelly (Emo)

Tom Fennelly, second on the left

The Minor final Man of the Match and a brilliant player for Emo-Courtwood throughout the season, Tom Fennelly is well deserving of his place here.

A fine hurler too, he is minor again next year and will add something to both county squads in 2020.

9 – James McWey (Ballyroan-Abbey)

James McWey, right

The imposing midfielder was the Ballyroan-Abbey captain and free taker in the final.

He was one of their main scorers throughout the competition and has incredible pace too.

10 – Paul O’Flynn (Courtwood)

A strong forward and an accurate scorer, Paul O’Flynn scored a total of 1-4 in this years Minor final from half forward.

Like Little above, he will graduate to the Courtwood seniors in 2020 where he will join older brother Sean.

11 – Ross Meredith (Emo)

Ross Meredith, middle

The Emo man is an intelligent player who caused Ballyroan-Abbey problems all day in the Minor final and throughout the course of the championship.

He is eligible to play at this grade again next year and his scoring power is very strong.

12 РOisín Hooney (St. Josephs)

The St. Joseph’s forward was an excellent player for club and county last year and is well deserving of his inclusion here.

St Joseph’s won the B league and pushed eventual champions Emo-Courtwood all the way in the semi final.

13 – Brian Whelan (Ballyroan-Abbey)

The Ballyroan-Abbey man was their full forward and their main scoring threat throughout the campaign.

He was one of their most consistent performers throughout the year and will be a big asset to Ballyroan-Abbey at senior level in 2020.

14 – Paddy Hosey (Emo)

Hosey contributed three points from play in this year’s Minor final and his overall influence throughout the game and the whole year was invaluable for Emo-Courtwood.

He also played in the U-20 finals in both codes, winning the football with Courtwood-Emo but losing with Raheen Parish Gaels.

15 – Josh O’Brien (St.Josephs)

The final player of our Team of the year is Josephs forward Josh O’Brien.

After a bad knee injury kept him out for the end of last year, O’Brien returned and scored well for them throughout the championship and was a key player to their team that just fell in the semi-Final stage to Emo-Courtwood.

SEE ALSO – Introducing the 2018 LaoisToday Minor football Team of the Year