Home Sport GAA Laois fall to Meath to end O’Byrne Cup campaign

Laois fall to Meath to end O’Byrne Cup campaign

Laois 1-15 Meath 4-16
Bord na Mona O’Byrne Cup Round 3

Laois lost out to Meath in their third game of the O’Byrne Cup, in Pairc Tailteann, Navan this afternoon.

This result meant that both sides were eliminated from the competition.

However, it was a competitive game of football, even though there was very little at stake.

Meath were in control from start to finish and were full value for ten their point win, as Laois were very poor in the first half, trailing by 11 at the interval.

Meath pushed up on the Laois kick-out and it paid dividends, as two of their first half goals came from turnovers high up the pitch.

Meath opened the scoring courtesy of a point from Bryan Menton, before two Thomas O’Reilly scores trebled the hosts advantage.

Gary Comerford registered his sides first point, following a score in the 14th minute, though Meath responded with four points in succession to stretch their lead to six.

Jack O’Connor got the games first goal with 23 minutes played, as a Laois short kick-out went wrong, with Meath overturning possession in an advanced area of the park and O’Reilly passed the ball to O’Connor, who found the net.

Meath had their second goal moments later, with Ronan Ryan getting his name on the scoresheet, at the end of an excellent Meath move. Robin Clarke, Donal Keoghan and Ryan all linked up, before the latter palmed the ball into the net.

Comerford replied with a free for Laois, as Evan O’Carroll scored his sides first goal in the 33rd minute, finishing to the net after a pass from Michael Keogh.

Meath responded with another goal before the break however, with Shane Walsh finishing to the net, as Laois lost possession when trying to play out of their own defence.
A free from O’Carroll was the last score of the half, as Meath held a 3-8 to 1-3 lead at the break.

Ben Brennan scored a point after the break to give his side a 12 point cushion but Laois responded superbly, scoring the next six points in succession to halve the deficit, as O’Carroll (0-2), Mark Barry (0-2), Keogh and Comerford all found the target.

Barry and Eoin Buggie registered two points in succession to leave the gap at just four points with 50 minutes played, though a Ronan Jones point settled the hosts.

Meath were dominant from this point onwards and a Niall Kane goal in the 54th minute sealed the win.

Both sides opted to try and empty their benches towards the end of the game and Meath held out for a comfortable point win.

Laois’s O’Byrne Cup campaign ends with this defeat and Micheal Quirke’s side must now prepare to travel to Roscommon for their opening league game.

SCORERS – Laois: Evan O’Carroll 1-6 (0-4 frees), Gary Comerford (0-2 frees) and Mark Barry; 0-3 each, Michael Keogh, Eoin Buggie and Ross Munnelly 0-1 each. Meath: Shane Walsh 1-2 (0-1 free,1 45), Jack O’Connor 1-0, Ronan Ryan 1-0, Sean Tobin 1-1, Bryan Menton , Thomas O’Reilly, Matthew Costello, Ben Brennan and Barry Dardis (0-2 frees) 0-2 each, Paddy Kennelly, Oisin O’Brien, Ronan Jones 0-1

LAOIS – Niall Corbett; Shane Bolger, Ruaidhri C Fennell, Brian Byrne; Eoin Buggie, Robbie Pigott, Patrick O’Sullivan; John O’Loughlin, Robert Tyrell; Eoin Lowry, Mark Barry, Michael Keogh; Gary Comerford, Evan O’Carroll, Diarmuid Whelan. Subs: Darragh Connolly for Tyrell (HT), Ross Munnelly for Whelan (50mins), Seamus Lacey for Pigott (54mins), Mark Timmons for C Fennell (56mins), Gary Walsh for Comerford (57mins), Alan Kinsella for Keogh (59mins), Adam Campion for Eoin Lowry (63mins), Brian Daly for Bolger (63mins), Cormac O’Hora for O’Loughlin (63mins), Evan Lowry for Byrne (63mins)

MEATH – Dominic Yorke; Robin Clarke, Conor McGill, David Toner; Donal Keoghan, James McEntee, Ronan Ryan; Bryan Menton, Brian Conlon; Jack O’Connor, Ben Brennan, Matthew Costello; Donal Lenihan, Shane Walsh, Thomas O’Reilly. Subs: Sean Tobin for Lenihan (7mins), Eamon Wallace for O’Connor (HT), Ronan Jones for Conlon (HT), Barry Dardis for Walsh (44mins), Gavin McCoy for Toner (54mins), Oisin O’Brien for O’Reilly (55mins), Eoin Lynch for McEntee (57mins), Paddy Kennelly for Brennan (57mins)

Referee: Patrick Maguire (Longford)

SEE ALSO – Laois hurling team announced ahead of clash against Westmeath

Previous articleLaois hurling team announced ahead of clash against Westmeath
Next articleWalsh makes his inter-county comeback under new manager Quirke