Home Sport GAA Sigerson Cup journey ends for IT Carlow as DCU crowned champions

Sigerson Cup journey ends for IT Carlow as DCU crowned champions

IT Carlow 0-7 DCU 0-14
Electric Ireland Sigerson Cup Final 

IT Carlow’s bid to win a first ever Sigerson Cup were ended by DCU in the final in Dublin tonight.

IT Carlow, who are managed by Portlaoise Pat Critchley, battled all the way but they never looked capable of amassing the scores needed to break down a very good DCU defence.

Laois players Trevor Collins, Richie Hitchcock and Evan Lowry all started for IT Carlow while O’Dempsey’s Mark Barry was an unused substitute for victors DCU.

DCU played with the wind in the first half and carved IT Carlow open on three occasions but failed to rattle the net.

David Garland, twice, and Thomas Donoghue both got through one-on-one on IT Carlow keeper Killian Roche but he wasn’t troubled as they shot wide.

However, they did take a lead that they wouldn’t relinquish after seven minutes via keeper Evan Comerford and Michael Brannigan.

Cian Farrell replied for IT Carlow but a disputed Shane Carty score and another from David Garland saw DCU push on again.

Killeshin’s Evan Lowry blasted over IT Carlow’s only score from play after 27 minutes but Garland’s second point left DCU 0-5 to 0-2 ahead at half time.

The second half was tit for tat for twenty minutes with Farrell adding four frees for IT Carlow but DCU remaining ahead via Comerford, Garland, Paddy Small and Brian Stack.

But IT Carlow then lost Richie Hitchcock to a black card and that meant they would have to play the time that remained with 14 men.

They would actually finish the game with 13 men as Niall Hughes also picked up a black card as Garland, Sean Bolger and Brannigan ensured DCU ran out seven point winners.

SCORERS – IT CARLOW: Cian Farrell 0-6 (all frees), Evan Lowry 0-1,  DCU: David Garland 0-4 (one free), Michael Bannigan 0-2 (one free), Evan Comerford 0-3 (two frees, one 45), Shane Carty 0-1, Paddy Small 0-1, Brian Stack 0-1, Sean Bolger 0-1

IT CARLOW: Killian Roche, Josh Moore, Richie Hitchcock, Ronan Ryan; Conor Doyle, Trevor Collins, Cathal Walsh; Niall Hughes, Sean Ryan; Padraigh O’Toole, Chris Byrne, Adam Steed; Cian Farrell, Declan Campbell, Evan Lowry

DCU: Evan Comerford; Conor Morrison, Brendan McCole, Daniel Corcoran; Kevin Flynn, Sean McMahon, Declan Monaghan; Jordan Morrissey, Sean Bolger; Shane Carty, Michael Bannigan, Brian Stack, Thomas Donoghue, Paddy Small, David Garland

Referee: Derek O’Mahoney (Tipperary)

Previous articleMeet your Candidates: Favourite film? Preferred dinner guests? We got some right good suggestions here
Next articlePeople on both sides of the Laois/Carlow border called to attend fundraising quiz
Stradbally native Alan Hartnett is a graduate of Knockbeg College who has worked in the local and national media since 2008. Alan has a BA in Economics, Politics and Law and an MA in Journalism from DCU. His happiest moment was when Jody Dillon scored THAT goal in the Laois senior football final in 2016.