Home We Are Laois Moment in Time Moment in Time: Cumann na mBunscol hurling action from 2005

Moment in Time: Cumann na mBunscol hurling action from 2005

The Cumann na mBunscol reports and photos never fail to give a great trip down memory lane.

And the 2005 hurling final action is no different.

Played, as usual, in its end of May slot, it proved a great day for the boys and girls of Abbeyleix who claimed a Division 1 double, with the boys beating St Paul’s of Portlaoise by 4-6 to 1-2 and the girls getting the better of Cullohill on a 7-2 to 2-0 scoreline.

Future Laois hurler Ryan Peacock scored 3-2 for Abbeyleix with David Moloney scored 1-2 while future Laois footballer David Seale was on the Portlaoise team.

For the Abbeyleix girls, Ruth Bergin, smashed home four goals for the winners while Gillian Reilly scored two points from midfield.

Martin Carroll, Aidan Linehan, Gavin Sydes and Cormac O’Keeffe scored a goal each as Mountrath got the better of Killadooley in the Division 2 boys final.

Future Laois camogie player Alison McEvoy got five goals for Derrylamogue in their Division 2 camogie final win Scoil Mhuire of Portlaoise.

Other players to catch the eye across a busy day of action was Emma Hogan who got four goals for Paddock in their Division 3 camogie win while future senior championship winner with Camross Michael Phelan impressed for Killanure, scoring 2-2 in their Division 3 win over a Ballyroan side that had future Laois footballer Marty Scully in their midst.

Future Laois hurling captain Paddy Purcell scored 1-2 for Errill in their Division 4 final win over Paddock but Tadhg Dowling was their top scorer with 1-6. On the beaten Paddock team was future Laois senior hurler Ben Conroy, who scored 1-4.

Ronan Murray scored a whopping 5-3 fro Rosenallis in their thrilling win over neighbours Derrylamogue in the Division 6 decider while MJ Lalor was in top form for Knock NS, scoring 5-1 in their win over Rushall in the Division 5 final.

You can check out Alf Harvey’s selection of images and the full set of results below.

  • Division 1 Hurling – Abbeyleix 4-6 St Paul’s, Portlaoise 1-2
  • Division 1 Camogie – Abbeyleix 7-2 Cullohill 2-0
  • Division 2 Hurling – Mountrath 4-5 Killadooley 2-4
  • Division 2 Camogie – Derrylamogue 5-5 Scoil Mhuire, Portlaoise 2-0
  • Division 3 Hurling – Killanure 4-4 Ballyroan 3-1
  • Division 3 Camogie – Paddock 5-0 Clough 0-3
  • Division 4 Hurling – Errill 4-11 Paddock 5-4
  • Division 4 Camogie – Killadooley 2-0 Ratheniska 0-0
  • Division 5 Hurling – Knock 8-5 Rushall 4-2
  • Division 6 Hurling – Rosenallis 6-4 Derrylamogue 5-5
Dillon Creagh, Rosenallis leads this chase for the ball with David Dunphy and Willie Roche, Barnashrone in the Roinn 6 Hurling final.
Picture: Alf Harvey.
Knock captain Robert Foyle is presented with the Roinn 5 Hurling trophy by Laois ‘keeper Patrick Mullaney
James Deegan strikes for Ballyroan despite the best efforts of Craig Mortimer and Leona Conroy, Killanure
Cumann na mBunscol chairman Sean Mullaney presents the Roinn 3 camogie trophy to Paddock captain Breda O’Rourke
Emma Hogan, Paddock and Edwina Nolan, Clough
Adrian Phelan, Killadooley and Martin Carroll, Mountrath

David Moloney lays off this ball for Abbeyleix against St. Paul’s
Laois hurling manager Paudie Butler presents the Roinn 1 Camogie trophy to Abbeyleix captain Gillian Reilly
Keara Hughes strikes for Abbeyleix against Claire Walsh, Cullohill.

Shane Cleere drives home this goal for Errill against Paddock

Derrylamogue players Averil Westman and Aileen Hartnett celebrate with their medals.
Derrylamogue’s Geraldine Hyland celebrates with Hazel Westman and Emer Farrell

SEE ALSO – See more great photos from our Cumann na mBunscol memories here

Previous articleDeaths in Laois – Tuesday, June 9, 2020
Next articleOur School Revisited: St Fiacc’s NS in Graiguecullen – big school with huge spirit