Home Sport GAA First-half goals key as Ballyfin go through to quarter-finals

First-half goals key as Ballyfin go through to quarter-finals

Ballyfin 2-11 Ballyroan-Abbey 2-8
Laois Shopping Centre SFC Round 2

Ballyfin are through to the Laois SFC quarter-finals following a good win over Ballyroan-Abbey in an entertaining clash in MW Hire O’Moore Park this afternoon.

First-half goals from James Finn and former Offaly player Aidan Keenaghan helped them to a 2-5 to 1-4 lead at the break.

Points from James and Sean Moore opened up an early two-point lead but Diarmuid Whelan got Ballyroan off the mark with a free only to be cancelled out by a Sean Moore mark.

But Ballyroan took the lead when big Cathal Doyle finished smartly past Robbie Foran. Whelan (45) and Aaron McEvoy pointed to put Ballyroan three up but a James Moore point meant it was just 1-3 to 0-4 at the water break.

Another Sean Moore point brought it back to a point before Keenaghan barrelled through to get Ballyfin’s first goal.

Whelan responded with a free for Ballyroan but Ballyfin led 2-5 to 1-4 at the break after James Finn scraped one over the line after a high ball broke off Sean Moore.

Ballyroan-Abbey introduced Marty Scully at the break and though his involvement was to be shortlived as his injury flared up again, he had a brief influence and played a part in two early points from Diarmuid Whelan.

Sean Moore pointed either side of Aaron McEvoy to keep three in it but the sides were level again when Diarmuid Whelan goaled after his shot from a penalty was initially saved by Foran.

A Moore free pushed Ballyfin back into the lead and then Louis Duff put them two up.

Whelan pulled it back to one again but a massive free from James Finn and another from Sean Moore got them over the line.

SCORERS – Ballyfin: Sean Moore 0-7 (three frees, two marks), James Finn 1-0, Aidan Keenaghan 1-0, James Moore 0-2, James Finn 0-1 (free), Louis Duff 0-1. Ballyroan-Abbey: Diarmuid Whelan 1-6 (0-2 frees, 0-1 ’45), Cathal Doyle 1-0, Aaron McEvoy 0-2

BALLYFIN: Robbie Foran; Jack Cleary, David Connolly, George Lanham; William Reilly, Allan Connolly, Darragh Connolly; James Finn, Max Connolly; Nick Cosgrove, James Moore, Aidan Keenaghan; Sean Moore, Louis Duff, Jack Priestley. Subs: Dan Molloy for Cosgrave (55), Ricky Quillinan for Duff (65)

BALLYROAN-ABBEY: Andrew Bonham; Aaron McEvoy, Gavin Tynan, Danny Brennan; Adam Dunne, Ruari Dunne, Shaun Murphy; Aaron Carroll, Michael Brennan; Colm Walsh, Cathal Doyle, Jamie Whelan; Paudie McDonald, John Rodgers, Diarmuid Whelan. Subs: Marty Scully for Brennan (half time), Enda McWey for Rodgers (32), Brian Whelan for Scully (injured – 37), Rodgers for Tynan (injured – 52)

REFEREE: Joe Brennan (Crettyard)

SEE ALSO – Check out all our Laois SFC coverage here