Home Sport GAA Laois Ladies footballers confirm captain, vice-captain and panel ahead of All-Ireland championship...

Laois Ladies footballers confirm captain, vice-captain and panel ahead of All-Ireland championship opener

Laois Ladies football manager Donie Brennan has named a 31-player panel for the upcoming All-Ireland intermediate championship.

The Killeen native has also confirmed that Park-Ratheniska’s Anna Healy will skipper the side.

This will be the flying defender’s second season to captain her county and she will be assisted by Foxrock-Cabinteely’s Laura Nerney.

A total of nine clubs are represented with county champions Portlaoise, defeated finalists Sarsfields and intermediate semi finalists Ballyroan providing five each.

Timahoe, St Paul’s, St Brigid’s, Park-Ratheniska and intermediate champions Shanahoe all have representatives on the panel too.

Laois have been drawn in Group 4 of the intermediate championship alongside Sligo, Clare and Kildare.

They will begin against Sligo at 1pm this Sunday, November 1, in Dr Hyde Park.

They then play Clare in Clonmel on Sunday, November 8, and Kildare on Sunday, November 15 – although the venue for that game is yet to be confirmed.

The top team from each group will contest the All-Ireland semi final on the weekend of November 21/22 while the All-Ireland final has been pencilled in for Croke Park on Sunday, December 20.

This will be a double header with the senior final.


Ellen Healy (Portlaoise)
Fiona Dooley (Portlaoise)
Sarah Ann Fitzgerald (Portlaoise)
Leah Loughman (Portlaoise)
Rebecca Reddin (Portlaoise)
Clare Conlon (Sarsfields)
Leah Tarpey (Sarsfields)
Jenny McEvoy (Sarsfields)
Mags McEvoy (Sarsfields)
Rachel Williams (Sarsfields)
Clodagh Dunne (Ballyroan)
Emily Mulhall (Ballyroan)
Andrea Moran (Ballyroan)
Kate Whelan (Ballyroan)
Rachel Fitzgerald (Ballyroan)
Mo Nerney (Timahoe)
Orla Hennessy (Timahoe)
Roisin Larkin (Timahoe)
Sarah Larkin (Timahoe)
Emma Lawlor (St Paul’s)
Rebecca Balfe (St Paul’s)
Sinead O’Rourke (St Paul’s)
Nadine Dempsey (St Paul’s)
Jane Moore (St Brigid’s)
Amy Potts (St Brigid’s)
Caoimhe Simms (St Brigid’s)
Anna Healy (Captain) (Park-Ratheniska)
Erone Fitzpatrick (Park-Ratheniska)
Eimear Barry (Shanahoe)
Kate Jacob (Shanahoe)
Laura Nerney (Vice Captain) (Foxrock-Cabinteely)

SEE ALSO – Laois GAA financial deficit to be much smaller than first thought as live streaming service brings in more than €50,000

Previous articleGardai dismantle potential bonfire in Laois town
Next articleGardai appeal to drivers to slow down when approaching checkpoints
Stradbally native Alan Hartnett is a graduate of Knockbeg College who has worked in the local and national media since 2008. Alan has a BA in Economics, Politics and Law and an MA in Journalism from DCU. His happiest moment was when Jody Dillon scored THAT goal in the Laois senior football final in 2016.