Home Sport GAA Laois minor footballers confirm captain, vice-captain and 35-man panel ahead of Leinster...

Laois minor footballers confirm captain, vice-captain and 35-man panel ahead of Leinster opener

Laois minor football manager Mark Bates has named a 35-man panel for the upcoming Leinster championship.

Portlaoise lead the way with eight representatives while Graiguecullen with four are next ahead of Ballyroan-Abbey and St Joseph’s who have three each.

Minor champions Ballyroan-Abbey technically have four when you include Padraig Rafter who played with them at wing forward in their triumph over Portlaoise at the end of September – but he is actually from Rathdowney-Errill.

He is one of four players who were also part of the Laois minor hurling squad this year – along with Portlaoise’s DJ White, Emo’s Tom Fennelly and Rosenallis’ David Dooley.

A total of 15 clubs from Rathdowney-Errill to Graiguecullen have representation on the panel.

As was confirmed earlier this year, Park-Ratheniska’s Simon Fingleton will skipper the team this season and he will be assisted by Arles-Killeen’s Colin Dunne.

Those are two of ten players – Conor Kelly (Graiguecullen), Kian Lawlor (Graiguecullen), Lee Byrne (Graiguecullen), PJ Ward (Portarlington), Davin McEvoy (Ballyroan-Abbey), Shaun Fitzpatrick (Ballyroan-Abbey), Oisin Hooney (St Joseph’s), Daire Scully (Clonaslee) – who were part of the Laois squad that reached the Leinster semi final in 2019 where they lost to eventual champions Kildare.

The minor championship was due to commence in May but the Covid-19 pandemic has seen it postponed twice.

Round 1 was played back in October but Laois were not in action as they had received a bye to the quarter final where they will face Carlow this Saturday.

The game will be in MW Hire O’Moore Park at 12.30pm and it will be without spectators, so, presumably the lads from Laois TV will be back in action.

If the minors win that game, they will face the winners of Meath and Westmeath in the semi-final on December 19.

The Leinster final is pencilled in for January 3, 2021, with a subsequent All-Ireland semi final and final following suit.

Check out the panel in full below:


Ben Dempsey (Portlaoise)
Ben Reddin (Portlaoise)
Brian Smith (Portlaoise)
Conor Brown (Portlaoise)
DJ White (Portlaoise)
Josh Hogan (Portlaoise)
Kieran O’Donnell (Portlaoise)
Sam Birrane (Portlaoise)
Conor Kelly (Graiguecullen)
Jack Byrne (Graiguecullen)
Kian Lawler (Graiguecullen)
Lee Byrne (Graiguecullen)
Davin McEvoy (Ballyroan-Abbey)
Odhran Delaney (Ballyroan-Abbey)
Shaun Fitzpatrick (Ballyroan-Abbey)
Cormac Murphy (St Joseph’s)
Oisin Hooney (St Joseph’s)
Sean Brennan (St Joseph’s)
Cathal Lee (Clonaslee)
Daire Scully (Clonaslee)
Adam O’Halloran (Courtwood)
Sam Krebbs (Courtwood)
Ross Meredith (Emo)
Tom Fennelly (Emo)
Ben Coen (O’Dempsey’s)
Stephen Lennon (O’Dempsey’s)
Darragh Slevin (Portarlington)
PJ Ward (Portarlington)
Charlie Friel (Rosenallis)
David Dooley (Rosenallis)
Colin Dunne (Arles-Kileen) (Vice-captain)
Conor Heffernan (Killeshin)
Simon Fingleton (Park-Ratheniska) (Captain)
Padraig Rafter (Rathdowney-Errill)
Ryan Quinlan (Spink)

SEE ALSO – Moment in Time: 20 years on from the final curtain call for the old Portlaoise cinema

Previous articleCovid takes another local event as annual Christmas Tractor Run a no go this year
Next articleJOB VACANCIES: First Choice Bathrooms and Tiles seeking to fill a number of positions
Stradbally native Alan Hartnett is a graduate of Knockbeg College who has worked in the local and national media since 2008. Alan has a BA in Economics, Politics and Law and an MA in Journalism from DCU. His happiest moment was when Jody Dillon scored THAT goal in the Laois senior football final in 2016.