Home Sport GAA LIVE BLOG: Laois U-20 hurlers take on Galway in Leinster championship

LIVE BLOG: Laois U-20 hurlers take on Galway in Leinster championship

Middle of December isn’t the time of the year that you’d associate with the Leinster hurling championship but tonight in MW Hire O’Moore Park, the Laois and Galway U-20s do battle for a place in the provincial semi-final.

Laois qualified for this stage of the championship thanks to a three-point win over Carlow way back on October 21, just before the Level 5 restrictions were introduced.

Galway had a bye in the first round but go into tonight’s game as the hottest of favourites.

They can call on four members of Shane O’Neill’s senior panel in goalkeeper Darach Fahy, full-back TJ Brennan, who captains the side, wing-back Diarmuid Kilcommons and wing-forward Conor Walsh.

Laois, for their part, have made three changes to the side that beat Carlow with The Harps duo Ciaran Burke and James Duggan as well as John Maher from Rosenallis coming in for Conor Cosgrove (Rosenallis), Fionn Whelan (The Harps) and Liam Delaney (Camross).

Tonight’s game throws in at 7.30pm and is being streamed live on TG4’s YouTube channel.

The teams in full are:


1. Darach Fahy (Ardrahan)

2. Oisin Salmon (Clarinbridge)
3. T.J.Brennan (Clarinbridge)
4. Jason O’Donoghue (Gort)

5. Diarmuid Kilcommins (Annaghdown)
6. Adam Brett (Killimordaly)
7. Dylan Shaughnessy (Loughrea)

8. Ian McGlynn (Kilconieron)
9. Alex Connaire (Sarsfields)

10. Conor Walsh (Turloughmore)
11. Sean Neary (Castlegar)
12. Adrian Prendergast (Craughwell)

13. Oisin Flannery (St.Thomas’)
14. John Fleming (Meelick-Eyrecourt)
15. Donal O’Shea (Salthill-Knocknacarra)


1. Cathal Dunne (Clough-Ballacolla)

2. Danny Brennan (Park-Ratheniska-Timahoe)
3. Enda Parlon (Borris-Kilcotton)
4. Aaron Gaughan (Castletown)

5. Fionan Mahoney (Abbeyleix)
6. Ciaran Burke (The Harps)
7. Padraic Dunne (The Harps)

8. John Maher (Rosenallis)
9. Joe Phelan (Castletown)

10. Ciaran Byrne (Abbeyleix)
11. Daniel Delaney (Camross)
12. Thep Fitzpatrick (Rathdowney-Errill)

13. Tomas Keyes (Camross)
14. Mark Hennessy (Clough-Ballacolla)
15. James Duggan (The Harps)


SEE ALSO – Big occasion for Masterson brothers as they’re both named to start for Connacht against European giants Racing 92