Home Sport GAA Laois U-20 hurlers name 33-player panel, captain and vice-captain ahead of 2021...

Laois U-20 hurlers name 33-player panel, captain and vice-captain ahead of 2021 Leinster championship campaign

Laois U-20 hurling manager Ollie Hally has named a 33-strong panel, captain and vice-captain for the upcoming Leinster championship.

The Clough-Ballacolla man was originally named as a selector on this team but following the decision of Enda Lyons to step down in April, he took full control.

Abbeyleix’s Fionan Mahoney is named as captain while Clough-Ballacolla’s Mark Hennessy is vice captain.

A total of 15 clubs are represented on this panel and a few of them are set to be very busy due to their involvement in other panels.

Allan Connolly, Mark Hennessy and Ciaran Byrne are also with Seamas ‘Cheddar’ Plunkett’s Laois senior hurlers.

While Ciaran Burke, Fionn Holland and the aforementioned Connolly are also named on the Laois U-20 football panel.

One of the notable absentees is Rosenallis’ David Dooley. He hit the headlines last month when he was named to start for the Laois seniors against Wexford in the National Hurling league before it was discovered that he was ineligible. 

Dooley represented Laois at minor level in 2020 and GAA rules prevent players from playing senior at inter-county level in their first year after graduating from the minor grade.

However, he is not named on this U-20 panel and it is understood that he has committed to Leinster rugby instead.

In terms of numbers, The Harps lead the way with five selections while Clough-Ballacolla and Abbeyleix provide four each.

Borris-Kilcotton and Camross have three each while Portlaoise, Castletown, Ballinakill and Rathdowney-Errill each have two.

The remaining clubs who are represented are Rosenallis, Trumera, Park-Ratheniska-Timahoe, Ballyfin, Clonaslee and Clonad.

The Laois U-20 hurlers will begin their campaign at home to Westmeath on June 29.

Should they win that game, they will face the winners of Down and Antrim in Round 2 on July 6.


Ciaran Burke (The Harps)
James Duggan (The Harps)
Rian Edwards (The Harps)
Lorcan Fitzpatrick (The Harps)
Cathal Murphy (The Harps)
Lochlainn Conway (Clough-Ballacolla)
Joe Corby (Clough-Ballacolla)
Padraig Brennan (Clough-Ballacolla)
Mark Hennessy (Clough-Ballacolla)
Ciaran Byrne (Abbeyleix)
Eamon Fitzpatrick (Abbeyleix)
Fionan Mahoney (Abbeyleix)
Lawson Obular (Abbeyleix)
Niall Coss (Borris-Kilcotton)
Sean Fitzpatrick (Borris-Kilcotton)
Noah Quinlan (Borris-Kilcotton)
Niall Bennett (Camross)
Daniel Delaney (Camross)
Tomas Keyes (Camross)
Eddie Critchley (Portlaoise)
Niall Carey (Portlaoise)
Tadhg Cuddy (Castletown)
Conor Walsh (Castletown)
Gearóid Lynch (Ballinakill)
Ian Shanahan (Ballinakill)
Thep Fitzpatrick (Rathdowney-Errill)
Padraig Rafter (Rathdowney-Errill)
Aodh Bowes (Rosenallis)
Bryan Bredin (Trumera)
Danny Brennan (Park-Ratheniska-Timahoe)
Allan Connolly (Ballyfin)
Cian Conroy (Clonaslee)
Fionn Holland (Clonad)

Vice-captain Mark Hennessy and captain Fionan Mahoney at the 1915 plaque in Ballygeehan

SEE ALSO – Laois U-20 footballers name captain, vice-captain and 32-player panel for 2021 Leinster championship campaign

Previous articleLaois primary school launch fundraiser in aid of new outdoor classroom
Next articleCruinniú na nÓg organisers encouraging young Laois people to reconnect with nature
Stradbally native Alan Hartnett is a graduate of Knockbeg College who has worked in the local and national media since 2008. Alan has a BA in Economics, Politics and Law and an MA in Journalism from DCU. His happiest moment was when Jody Dillon scored THAT goal in the Laois senior football final in 2016.