Home Hurling Club Hurling O’Brien on fire as Mountrath see off Park-Ratheniska-Timahoe to claim 2020 U-15...

O’Brien on fire as Mountrath see off Park-Ratheniska-Timahoe to claim 2020 U-15 ‘B’ hurling crown

Mountrath 2-15 Park-Ratheniska-Timahoe 1-11
2020 U-15 ‘B’ Hurling Championship Final

Mountrath have been crowned the 2020 U-15 ‘B’ hurling champions after they defeated Park-Ratheniska-Timahoe in a thrilling game in the Centre of Excellence tonight.

Caelum O’Brien was Mountrath’s main man as he scored 1-5 from play in a stunning display with Ruaidhri Kavanagh also contributing seven points.

It was Park-Ratheniska-Timahoe who got off to a flying start when Dylan Roche-Duff slotted the ball into the back of the net in the opening minute of the game.

The teams then traded points as Donnachadh Carroll got Mountrath off the mark with a point and Jack Deegan and Roche-Duff combined for Park-Ratheniska-Timahoe to maintain their lead.

Ruaidhri Kavanagh was very accurate from dead balls and he scored a brace to reduce Park-Ratheniska-Timahoe’s lead to two points – 1-2 to 0-3.

Roche-Duff was on fire in the opening quarter as he added another point to his tally.

He picked the ball up just inside the Mountrath 45 and drove through the heart of the Mountrath defence before cutting inside his man and dissected the posts from his effort.

Mountrath then scored 1-2 in two minutes to give them the lead for the first time in the game.

Ruaidhri Kavanagh and Mark Cusack put one point between the sides and then Caelum O’Brien made his presence known in the game as he scored a goal.

O’Brien received the ball along the end line and bounced off defender Eoin Shorthall before unleashing a thunderbolt into the top corner of the net.

Roche-Duff replied with a point to make it a one point game at the water break – 1-5 to 1-4 to Park-Ratheniska-Timahoe

O’Brien then moved to full forward for the remainder of the game and he was a constant threat. He scored a fine point from a tight angle before captain Kyle Moore pointed from distance.

Enda Shorthall scored a brace of frees while O’Brien scored the last point of the half to give Mountrath a two point lead at the interval – 1-9 to 1-7.

Enda Shorthall and Caelum O’Brien swapped points at the beginning of the second half.

Shorthall was one of Park-Ratheniska-Timahoe’s standout players and he scored a brilliant point from distance. He caught a ball high in the air from a clearance from the Mountrath fullback Dion Cuddy and smashed the it between the posts.

With ten minutes remaining in the half Mountrath Mark Cusack got a goal which killed Park-Ratheniska-Timahoe’s momentum to put five points in it – 2-12 to 1-10.

Ruaidhri Kavanagh finished off the game with a brace to help Mountrath collect the cup.

SCORERS – Mountrath: Caelum O’Brien 1-5, Ruaidhri Kavanagh 0-7 (six frees), Mark Cusack 1-1, Donnachadh Carroll and Kyle Moore 0-1 each Park-Ratheniska-Timahoe: Dylan Roche Duff 1-3, Enda Shortall 0-5 (four frees), Cathal Tierney 0-3

MOUNTRATH: Alex Phelan; Jack Maguinness, Dion Cuddy, Dylan Hegarty; Kyle Moore, Eoin Brennan, Cormac Farrell; Cian Hill, Cory Doheny; Josh Dempsey, Caelum O’Brien, Cian Kelly; Mark Cusack, Ruaidhri Kavanagh, Donnachadh Carroll. Subs used: Donnacha O’Neill, Sean Foot, Michael Moore Kileen

PARK-RATHENISKA-TIMAHOE: Padraig Drennan; Daniel Fingleton, David Duggan, Conor McDonald; Danny Farrell, Eoin Shorthall, Cathal Buggie; Enda Shorthall, Eoin Johnson; Darragh Farrell, Cathal Tierney,Dylan Roche-Duff; Liam Daly, Jimmy Norton, Jack Deegan. Subs used: Rhys Kelly, PJ Daly, Declan Fingleton, Jimmy O’Hara

Referee: John Lalor (Shanahoe)

Previous articleDebut for Reilly as Ireland U-20s make perfect start to Six Nations Championship
Next articleClassy Comerford kicks Stradbally to opening league win over Killeshin