Home Gaelic Football Club Football Wins for Ballyroan-Abbey and Portarlington as walkovers hit Junior ‘A’ football championship...

Wins for Ballyroan-Abbey and Portarlington as walkovers hit Junior ‘A’ football championship again

Join our Live Blog of tonight's JFC semi finals


Ballyroan-Abbey have booked their place in the Laois JFC ‘A’ quarter-finals while Portarlington are back in the mix after wins over Barrowhouse and Castletown respectively today. 

But there has been further disruptions to the competitions with two more walkovers given in this weekend’s games following three in the opening round. 

Camross conceded the game to St Joseph’s, just as they had done to Kilcavan two weeks ago while Errill have given The Heath a walkover in their game scheduled for tomorrow. 

It means that Kilcavan and St Joseph’s go through to the quarter-final without playing a game – though they will meet in the final round to decide who tops the group. 

Errill’s walkover to The Heath just means that the game between Barrowhouse and The Heath in a fortnight’s time will decide who joins Ballyroan-Abbey in the last eight. 

Ballyroan-Abbey 1-14 Barrowhouse 2-10

Ballyroan-Abbey made the long trip to Barrowhouse a worthwhile one as they recorded a narrow win in a good game to book their place in the last eight. 

Having beaten The Heath in the opening round, Ballyroan now can’t be caught at the top of the table and their young, pacy team will surely be among the contenders when this competition gets down to the latter stages. 

A Jamie Whelan goal helped Ballyroan to a 1-8 to 1-5 lead at half time with Barrowhouse’s goal coming from top scorer James Baldwin. 

A TJ Burke goal drew the sides level midway through the second half and then Lochlainn Kelleher nudged Barrowhouse ahead. 

But Ballyroan finished strong and a couple of late James McWey frees to seal a hard-fought win. 

SCORERS – Ballyroan-Abbey: Jamie Whelan 1-1, James McWey 0-3, Alan McWey and Evan McEvoy 0-2 each, Odhran Delaney, Ben McDonald, Lawson Obular, Jamie Bartley, Stephen Thompson and Conaire Gee 0-1 each. Barrowhouse: James Baldwin 1-3, Lee Day 0-5 (four frees), TJ Burke 1-1, Lochlan Kelleher 0-1

BALLYROAN-ABBEY: Colm Lalor; Eamon Fitzpatrick, Conaire Gee, Michael Brennan; Evan McEvoy, Ruairi Dunne, Sam Quinn; James McWey, Stephen Thompson; Lawson Obular, James Whelan, Jamie Bartley; Ben McDonald, Alan McWey, Odhran Delaney

BARROWHOUSE: Darragh Phelan; Denis Brophy, Tom Page, James Brennan; Tom McDonald, Alex Robinson, Padraig Whelan; Martin Murphy, Lochlann Kelleher; TJ Burke, Fergal Murphy, Alex Kenny; James Baldwin, Lee Day, Sean Langton. Sub: Eoin Cobbe

REFEREE: Des Cooney (St Joseph’s)

Portarlington 2-11 Castletown 2-9

Having lost their opening game to Portlaoise, Portarlington are back in contention in the Laois JFC ‘A’ following a hard-earned win over Castletown this evening. 

Laois hurler Ryan Mullaney scored 1-5 for Castletown but a Portarlington team with numerous players with senior experience proved too strong. 

Portlaoise play The Harps in the other game in that group tomorrow .

Castletown, who got a walkover from The Harps in their first game, would be back in the mix with a final round win over Portlaoise while Port will need to beat The Harps in their final game to make it through. 

PORTARLINGTON: Jack Whelan; Ryan Clancy, Pádraig Coffey, Seán Higgins; Dylan Murphy, Dean Foster, Eoin Kennedy; Johnny Fulham, Cathal Ryan; Adam Burns, Hayden Weldon, Jordan Fallon; Ciarán Ward, Graham Weldon, Celium Coughlan. Subs: Cian Corcoran for Adam Burns

CASTLETOWN: Trevor Abbott; Sean O’Connor, Martin Reddin, Matthew Peters; Aaron Sydes, Dylan Conroy, Kieran Phelan; Tadhg Cuddy, Loughlin Hegarty; Aaron Gaughan, Ryan Mullaney, Martin Phelan; Ciaran Dunne, Gearoid Gaughan, Jamie Conroy. Subs: Killian Cuddy, John Gaughan, Barry McEvoy, Conor Phelan


Previous articleKilleshin edge past 14 man Arles-Killeen after controversial SFC clash
Next articleEmo strike at the death to claim narrow win over The Heath