Home Sport GAA Ballyroan-Abbey book Kelly Cup final while late winner sees Portlaoise AFC advance...

Ballyroan-Abbey book Kelly Cup final while late winner sees Portlaoise AFC advance in Lummy O’Reilly Cup

Football general

Ballyroan-Abbey 3-11 Crettyard 0-4
Kelly Cup Semi-final

Ballyroan-Abbey eased into the Kelly Cup final on Wednesday night thanks to a comfortable 16-point win over Crettyard.

Fielding a strong team, Ballyroan-Abbey were too good for their intermediate side Crettyard, who had Ballyroan man Noel Delaney as manager coming up against his son Odhran who was on the Ballyroan team.

Ballyroan now go forward to play St Joseph’s in the final, which is provisionally scheduled for mid-week next week.

In the meantime, St Joseph’s host Graiguecullen in the opening round of Division 1A of the league on Friday evening while Ballyroan-Abbey are away to Emo on Saturday.

BALLYROAN-ABBEY: Mark McDonald; Mark Cahill, Michael Brennan, Aaron McEvoy; Conor McWey, Conor Brennan, Stephen Thompson; Cathal Doyle, Aaron Carroll; Enda McWey, Marty Scully, Colm Walsh; Odhran Delaney, Diarmuid Whelan, Dylan Cuddy. Subs: Paudi McDonald, Ruairi Dunne, Ben McDonald, Alan McWey, Padraig McMahon, Sam Quinn, Gavin Tynan

CRETTYARD: Josh Kelly; Adam Kavanagh, James Kelly, Brian O’Sullivan; Dara Kelly, Pierce Nash, Conor Mulhall; Cormac Murphy, Patrick O’Reilly; Brian Brennan, Christoir Maher, Mark Delaney; Eoin O’Shea, Jonah Kelly, Michael Nash. Subs: Matthew Kelly, Ryan Shanahan, Killian O’Shea, Barry Doyle, Aran Murphy, Eoin Delaney, Joseph Brennan

Portlaoise AFC 1 Dublin University 0

A late goal from Jason Murphy sent Portlaoise AFC into the Lummy O’Reilly Cup quarter-final last night at the expense of Dublin University in Rossleighan.

Murphy struck for the winner in injury time in what was Portlaoise’s first game in a couple of weeks.

Covid concerns in January and bad weather in February has meant that they’ve played very little so far in 2022.

But they’ve a busy schedule coming up with four games in 12 days now and then the remaining six league games as they seek promotion in the Leinster Senior League.

PORTLAOISE AFC: Joe Walshe; Scott Osborne, Colm Coss, Aidan McGovern; Oisin Fitzpatrick, Jimmy Dermody, Colm Poole, Jack Priestley, Paul Cahillane; Chris Mulhall, Jason Murphy. Subs: David Doyle for Priestley

SEE ALSO – Talking Sport Podcast: Apology, Laois v Longford preview and club football rankings

Previous articleAction called to deal with former business left idle in Laois town for a decade
Next articleEmergency support scheme for hauliers ‘has yet to issue a single payment’ says local TD
Stradbally native Alan Hartnett is a graduate of Knockbeg College who has worked in the local and national media since 2008. Alan has a BA in Economics, Politics and Law and an MA in Journalism from DCU. His happiest moment was when Jody Dillon scored THAT goal in the Laois senior football final in 2016.