Home Gaelic Football Club Football 100% Division 1B start continues for Stradbally while Killeshin and Clonaslee-St Manman’s...

100% Division 1B start continues for Stradbally while Killeshin and Clonaslee-St Manman’s also win

Stradbally The Heath ACFL Division 1B

The Heath 1-8 Stradbally 3-12 
ACFL Division 1B Round 3

Stradbally made it three wins from three games as they ran out 10 point wins over The Heath this evening.

Goals from Jody Dillon, Benny Lawlor and teenager Cillian Maher did the trick for Stradbally as Brian Lonergan’s charges continued their good early season form.

They began the game with three early points from Cillian Maher, Benny Lawlor and Conor Buggie.

Leon Holland got The Heath underway and they then struck for a goal when a Stradbally kick-out went wrong and James Phelan pounced to score a goal.

The visitors recovered with scores from Jody Dillon and Colm Begley before they had a goal of their own.

Jody Dillon’s free from 45 metres dropped short but it deceived Heath keeper Seamus Mulhare and ended up in the net.

Jimmy Nerney and Conor Booth hit points for The Heath but Lawlor and Begley pointed in reply to leave Stradbally 1-8 to 1-4 ahead at half time.

Stradbally picked up from where they left off when play resumed as a swift move up the left flank instigated by Conor Buggie ended with Benny Lawlor clipping the ball into the bottom corner.

The Heath were given the chance to get back into the game when Conor Booth won a penalty but Stradbally keeper Jack Larkin guessed right to deny him from the spot.

After that, The Heath’s challenge faded and all they managed were points from Phelan, Andrew Booth, Holland and sub Jake Ratcliffe.

Stradbally replied through Colm Begley, Eoin Buggie and Dillon before sub Noah Delaney teed up Cillian Maher to make it safe with a third goal.

SCORERS – Stradbally: Benny Lawlor 1-3 (one free), Jody Dillon 1-2 (all frees), Cillian Maher 1-1, Colm Begley 0-3 (one free), Eoin Buggie 0-2, Conor Buggie 0-1 The Heath: James Phelan 1-1, Leon Holland (one free) and Conor Booth 0-2 each, Jimmy Nerney 0-1, Andrew Booth (mark) and Jake Ratcliffe 0-1 each

STRADBALLY: Jack Larkin; Colm Clancy, Damien Murphy, Jack Langton; Podge Fitzpatrick, Colin Beale, Ciaran O’Neill; Eoin Buggie, Colm Begley; Conor Buggie, Jody Dillon, Cillian Maher; Benny Lawlor, Darren Maher, Colm Kelly. Subs: Garry Comerford for Murphy (20, inj), Luke Kelly for C Kelly (45), Noah Delaney for Maher (55)

THE HEATH: Seamus Mulhare; David O’Brien, Mark Dowling, Alan Whelan; Brian Ging, Mark Phelan, PJ Daly; Denis Booth, Jimmy Nerney; Aaron Thornton, James Phelan, Conor Booth; Leon Holland, Robbie Dowling, Andrew Booth. Subs: Daithi Carroll for R Dowling (35), Tony Connolly for Nerney (40), Gareth O’Brien for M Dowling (45), Jake Ratcliffe for A Booth (50), Jack Reddy for C Booth (55)

Referee: Eric Ward (Portarlington)

Clonaslee-St Manman’s 1-6 Arles-Killeen 0-5

Clonaslee-St Manman’s picked up their second win of their ACFL Division 1B campaign when they made a successful journey to Arles-Killeen.

A first-half goal from Jack Owens helped Clonaslee to a 1-3 to 0-3 lead at the break and they had four points to spare at the final whistle.

The result puts Clonaslee into third place in the table and in the crucial top four places, albeit with plenty of games yet to be decided.

Killeen remain without a win with three losses now from their opening three games, though this was their most competitive to date following heavy losses to Rosenallis and The Heath in their first two outings.

Arles-Killeen have a local derby against Ballylinan the next day out while Clonaslee are at home to The Heath.

CLONASLEE-ST MANMAN’S: Barry Kelly; DJ Callaghan, Will Young, Diarmuid Conroy; Tom Smith, Cian Conroy, Cian Callaghan; Liam Senior, Sean Condon; Bob Downey, Niall Corbet, Glenn McEvoy; Niall Hogan, Paddy Hyland, Jack Owens.

ARLES-KILLEEN: Ciaran Bizzell; Andrew Wall, Aidan O’Rourke, Gerry McWey; Michael Wall, Dermot Julian, Enda O’Rourke; Joe Mahon, John Mahon; Conor Keightley, Sean O’Shea, Niall O’Rourke; Brendan O’Shea, Billy O’Loughlin, Jason Enright. Subs: Enda McDonald, Arnie Mahon

REFEREE: Robbie Moran (Graiguecullen)

Killeshin 1-10 Arles-Kilcruise 0-10

Killeshin recovered from their heavy defeat to Ballylinan during the week to get the better of their neighbours Arles-Kilcruise and record their second win in ACFL Division 1B.

A first-half goal from Jack Dowling helped Killeshin to a 1-4 to 0-6 lead at half time and though Kilcruise fought back to go ahead in the second half, Killeshin got a string of late scores they had three points to spare at the finish.

Both sides now have a two-week break before Round 4 – when Arles-Kilcruise host Rosenallis and Killeshin travel to league leaders Stradbally.

KILLESHIN: Killian Roche; Brendan McDonald, Arnie Mahon, Kevin Brennan; David McDonald, Lee Dunne, Daniel McGrath; Adam Deering, Kevin Ryan; Pauric Bolton, Evan Lowry, Kaelum Hand; Jack Dowling, Luke Attride, Evan Galligan

ARLES-KILCRUISE: Dermot Nolan; Sean Meaney, Mark Wall, Ciaran Lawlor; Shane Creed, Cialann Mulhall, Jamie Conway; Kevin Meaney, PJ Lawlor; Liam Whelan, Brendan Conway, JP Conway; Arran Moore, David Conway, Darragh Kealy

REFEREE: Joe Brennan (Crettyard)

SEE ALSO – Check out all our ACFL Division 1B coverage here

SEE ALSO – Laois U-20 hurlers through to Leinster quarter-final after win over Kildare

Previous articleAndrew McDonald: How you defeat your anxiety with hypnotherapy
Next articleTrumera, Borris-Kilcotton and Colt-Shanahoe all record big wins in ACHL Division 2
Stradbally native Alan Hartnett is a graduate of Knockbeg College who has worked in the local and national media since 2008. Alan has a BA in Economics, Politics and Law and an MA in Journalism from DCU. His happiest moment was when Jody Dillon scored THAT goal in the Laois senior football final in 2016.