Home Sport GAA Crucial wins for Ballylinan and The Heath in ACFL Division 1B action

Crucial wins for Ballylinan and The Heath in ACFL Division 1B action

Football general

Ballylinan and The Heath both boosted their chance of survival in ACFL Division 1B this evening when they picked up their second wins of the campaign.

The Heath kicked a couple of late scores to get the better of Killeshin at home to move onto four points after five rounds and level with Killeshin.

The Heath had been 0-10 to 2-2 up at half time and though Killeshin went ahead in the second half, The Heath battled hard to a 0-16 to 2-9 win.

In the other game played in the division, Ballylinan also recorded just their second win thanks to a 2-8 to 0-7 win away to Clonaslee-St Manman’s. They had led 1-3 to 0-3.

Clonaslee had already won three of their last four games to sit second in the table and tonight’s loss makes things a lot tighter in the middle of the table and in the battle for a top four spot.

The restructured league format will see the top four after seven rounds playoff for the two promotion slots and the bottom four battle it out to avoid relegation.

The other two Round 5 games take place on Saturday when Rosenallis host leaders Stradbally and Arles-Killeen take on their neighbours Arles-Kilcruise, who are tied at the bottom of the table.

BALLYLINAN: Padraig Walsh; Josh McDonald, Kevin Byrne, Michael Downey; Oisin Leonard, Cathal Leonard, Jesse McEvoy; Pauric McEvoy, Alan Farrell; Cathal Fennessy, Cathail Dunne, Larry Kealy; Jamie Farrell, Ciaran Farrell, Jak Delaney. Subs: Jack Hickey for Kealy, Joey Walsh for Delaney, James Murphy for O Leonard

CLONASLEE-ST MANMAN’S: Barry Kelly; DJ Callaghan, Will Young, Diarmuid Conroy; Cian Conroy, Liam Senior, Jack Owens; Josh Flynn, Sean Condon; James McRedmond, Niall Hogan, Bob Downey; Daire Hogan, Niall Corbet, John Rigney. Subs: Glenn McEvoy for D Hogan, Paddy Hyland for Rigney, Senan Barrett for McRedmond

THE HEATH: Mikey Harrison; Gary Roe, Mark Dowling, Alan Whelan; Dylan Kavanagh, Jimmy Nerney, PJ Daly; Denis Booth, Robert Dowling; James Phelan, Robert Ging, Aaron Thornton; Leon Holland, Andrew Booth, Conor Booth. Subs: Tom Reddy for A Booth, Jake Ratcliffe for Thornton, Ciaran Booth for Kavanagh, Neil Keane for Holland

KILLESHIN: Killian Roche; Brendan McDonald, Arnie Mahon, Kevin Brennan; Ross Bolger, Shane Bolger, Patrick Doyle; Conor Heffernan, Luke Attride; Pauric Bolton, Eoin Lowry, Simon Attride; Adam Deering, Evan Lowry, Alan Brennan. Subs: James Doogue for A Brennan, Paddy Doyle for McDonald, Kaelum Hand for Bolton, Lee Dunne for K Brennan

Round 6 games – on May 6-8

  • Killeshin v Rosenallis
  • Arles-Kilcruise v Clonaslee-St Manman’s
  • Stradbally v Arles-Killeen
  • Ballylinan v The Heath

SEE ALSO – Check out all our ACFL Division 1B coverage here

Previous articlePortlaoise features on Ireland AM as efforts to assist Ukrainian refugees receive national attention
Next articleDeaths in Laois – Friday, April 29, 2022