Home Sport GAA Six-star St Fergal’s romp past Maynooth to reach Leinster U-16 hurling final

Six-star St Fergal’s romp past Maynooth to reach Leinster U-16 hurling final

St Fergal's Rathdowney U-16
Photo: Pat Delaney

St Fergal’s 6-12 Maynooth College 2-11
School’s Leinster U-16 ‘C’ Hurling Championship Semi Final

A remarkable championship double remains on the cards for St Fergal’s Rathdowney following victory over Maynooth yesterday.

The claimed U-16 South Leinster hurling glory at the start of March and are now through to the Leinster final.

Sean Conroy and Joe Dollard’s charges have made the final following a convincing 13 point win over Maynooth College of Kildare.

St Fergal’s began the game well with two early goals from Eoghan Coss and Cormac Hogan.

Points followed from Gary Whelan and Joe Sherman as Maynooth slowly began to settle down and picked off points by Paul O’Dea, Ciaran Dunne and Cian Brody.

Just as the boys in Black and White were coming to grips with St Fergal’s the home team struck for two further goals from Darragh Ryan and Joe Sherman.

Ciaran Dunne replied with one for Maynooth but they trailed 4-7 to 1-7 at half time.

Dunne began the second half well for Maynooth but further St Fergal’s goals soon followed.

Eoghan Coss grabbed his second while Oisin Moore then scored his first to settle the tie.

Maynooth kept plugging away and Sean Breathnach got the game’s eighth goal but it was a mere consolation as St Fergal’s marched to the decider.

They will now go forward to face Boyne Community College in the final in the coming weeks.

SCORERS – St Fergal’s: Eoghan Coss 2-1, Darragh Ryan 1-4, Joe Sherman 1-3, Gary Whelan 0-4 (three frees) Cormac Hogan and Oisin Moore 1-0 each Maynooth Ciaran Dunne 1-6 (1-4 frees), Sean Breathnach 1-0, Paul O’Dea 0-3, Cian Brody 0-2 (both frees)

ST FERGAL’S: Jack Delaney (Rathdowney-Errill); James Rooney (Rathdowney-Errill), James Ryan (Borris-Kilcotton), Lorcan Dunne (Rathdowney-Errill); Eoin Brennan (Borris-Kilcotton), Ciaran Coss (Borris-Kilcotton), Evan Cassin (Clough-Ballacolla); Cormac Hogan (Clough-Ballacolla), Evan Carey(Borris-Kilcotton); Darragh Ryan (Rathdowney-Errill), Joe Sherman (Rathdowney-Errill), Cillian Brennan (Borris-Kilcotton); Gary Whelan (Clough-Ballacolla), Oisin Moore (Rathdowney-Errill), Eoghan Coss (Clough-Ballacolla); Subs Eoin Bracken (Rathdowney-Errill), Cormac Coleman (Rathdowney-Errill), Adam Waite (Clough-Ballacolla) and Charlie Hanrahan (Rathdowney-Errill)

MAYNOOTH: Oran Byrne; Darren Lyons, Paul Morrissey, Kallum Gilligan; Darragh Devine, Ben Mulligan, Niall Cullen; Oisin Brody, Joe McNulty; Sean Breathnach, Paul O’Dea, Liam Jennings; Cian O’Donovan, Daire McNicle, Ciaran Dunne. Subs: Daibhi Reynolds Gavin Kenny, Finn Dowling, Daniel Ennis, Daniel Hever

Referee: Pat Moran Graiguecullen

SEE ALSO – Check out all our ACFL Division 1B coverage here

Previous articleFeile Camogie glory for Naomh Eamann following pulsating affair with The Harps
Next articleBusy times continue as Laois dual minor duo set for two big Leinster clashes