Home Gaelic Football Club Football St Joseph’s jump into top four of Division 1A while Killeshin throw...

St Joseph’s jump into top four of Division 1A while Killeshin throw the cat among the pigeons in Division 1B

Football general

St Joseph’s 0-22 Emo 1-5 
ACFL Division 1A Round 6 

St Joseph’s jumped into the top half of Division 1A of the league following a comprehensive win over Emo.

Eoghan O’Flaherty was on fire as he contributed nine points in a very dominant display.

It didn’t start that was though as the first score of the match actually went to Emo.

A long range free from Niall Gorman dropped short but Darren Strong was on hand to palm it to the net.

However, St Joseph’s took over after that and kicked 13 unanswered points from there until half time.

O’Flaherty slotted seven of those with Josh Lacey landing a brace from distance.

Mick Keogh, Matty Campion, Cormac Murphy and Mikie Dempsey also raised white flags to leave them 0-13 to 1-0 ahead at half time.

It could have been even worse for Emo too but for keeper Niall Gorman who pulled off a number of stunning saves in the first half.

Emo did trouble St Joseph’s too but Aaron Cooney would not be beaten again as he did well to thwart Stephen Norton and Cian Langford on separate occasions.

Emo improved slightly at the start of the second half as Paddy Hosey landed two early points.

But St Joseph’s quickly got back into their stride with O’Flaherty, Campion and Conor Kealy all scoring before the end.

SCORERS – St Joseph’s: Eoghan O’Flaherty 0-9 (five frees, one mark), Matty Campion 0-5, Mick Keogh 0-3, Josh Lacey 0-2, Cormac Murphy, Mikie Dempsey and Conor Kealy 0-1 each Emo: Darren Strong 1-1 (one free), Paddy Hosey 0-3 (one free), Shane Murphy 0-1

ST JOSEPH’S: Aaron Cooney; Niall Brennan, Tom Dunne, Jamie Kelly; Josh Lacey, Jack Lacey, Cormac Murphy; Mikie Dempsey, Gearoid Lynch; Danny Hickey, Eoghan O’Flaherty, Sean Brennan; Matty Campion, Mick Keogh, Conor Kealy. Subs: Dean Brophy for Murphy (ht), Eoin Cahill for Lynch (inj) and Adam Benson-Byrne for Keogh (inj) (both 42), Enda Butler for Kealy and Ciaran Condron for Dempsey (both 50)

EMO: Niall Gorman; Paddy Dunne, Eoin Montague, Ian Fennelly; Jack Setright, Tom Fennelly, Mikey Fennelly; Nigel Murphy, Chris Gleeson; Rory Meredith, Stephen Norton, Rory Lawlor; Shane Murphy, Darren Strong, Paddy Hosey. Subs: Cian Langford for Lawlor (20), Ross Meredith for I Fennelly (45), Sean Kitchen for Hosey (55, inj)

Referee: Eric Ward (Portarlington)

Killeshin 3-8 Rosenallis 0-11 
ACFL Division 1B Round 6 

Killeshin got themselves back in the hunt for a place in the top four in Division 1B with a win over league leaders Rosenallis.

They move up to third place above Clonaslee on the head-to-head rule but have now played one game more.

They play Arles-Killeen in their final game next week where a win may be enough to take them into top four.

The equation will be the same for Rosenallis who travel to face The Heath in the final game where if they manage to avoid defeat then that should be enough.

KILLESHIN: Cillian Roche; Brendan McDonald, Jeremy Mahon, David McDermott; Paddy Doyle, Arnie Mahon, Lee Dunne; Kevin Ryan, Adam Deering; Simon Attride, Evan Lowry, Evan Galligan; Ross Bolger, Luke Attride, Jack Dowling

ROSENALLIS: Donal Lalor; Tommy Keating, Ruaidhri C-Fennell, Aodh Bowes; Paddy Keating, Marcus Redmond, Sean Dunne; Jimmy Hyland, Cathal C-Fennell; Joey Shelly, Ronan Murray, Jack Claffey; Diarmuid Dooley, James Jackson, Donnagh Callally

SEE ALSO – Check out all our ACFL Division 1A coverage here

Previous articleThe list of Laois locations for Darkness into Light tomorrow morning
Next articleBallyroan-Abbey give Division 1A ambitions a shot in the arm with win over Portarlington
Stradbally native Alan Hartnett is a graduate of Knockbeg College who has worked in the local and national media since 2008. Alan has a BA in Economics, Politics and Law and an MA in Journalism from DCU. His happiest moment was when Jody Dillon scored THAT goal in the Laois senior football final in 2016.