Home Gaelic Football Club Football Top four place in Division 1B secured for Stradbally while Clonaslee-St Manman’s...

Top four place in Division 1B secured for Stradbally while Clonaslee-St Manman’s move a step closer following tonight’s action

Football general

Stradbally 1-15 Arles-Killeen 0-7 
ACFL Division 1B Round 6

Stradbally confirmed their place in the top four of Division 1B with a game to spare following a comprehensive victory over Arles-Killeen this evening.

The home team built up a lead in the first half and were never in any danger of being pegged back by their visitors.

The opening exchanges were competitive as Jody Dillon and Conor Goode saw efforts for Stradbally cancelled out by Billy O’Loughlin and Conor Keightley.

But Stradbally took over after that as Cillian Maher, Eoin Buggie and Benny Lawlor joined the scoreboard.

Arles-Killeen lost Sean O’Shea and Gerry McWey to injury in the first half which finished 0-8 to 0-2 to Stradbally.

Arles-Killeen rallied somewhat in the second half as Keightley and O’Loughlin added a brace each.

Brendan O’Shea landed their seventh point of the evening but that would be their total.

Conor Goode, Jack Langton, Eoin Buggie, Jody Dillon, sub Colm Kelly and Cillian Maher scored for Stradbally in between and they made the game safe with a goal before the end.

They almost grabbed one when Conor Goode forced a stunning save from Ciaran Bizzell and then Michael Wall pulled off an unbelievable block to deny Benny Lawlor.

But Stradbally got in again before the end as Jody Dillon set up Colm Kelly soccer-style and he exchanged handpasses with Lawlor before rifling home.

The defeat means Arles-Killeen will most likely end up in the bottom four – although a win over Killeshin next week would still give them a chance.

SCORERS – Stradbally: Jody Dillon 0-4 (two frees), Colm Kelly 1-1, Cillian Maher 0-3 (one mark), Benny Lawlor, Conor Goode and Eoin Buggie 0-2 each, Jack Langton 0-1 Arles-Killeen: Billy O’Loughlin (one free) and Conor Keightley (one free) 0-3 each, Brendan O’Shea 0-1

STRADBALLY: Jack Larkin; Colm Clancy, Liam Knowles, Jack Langton; Eamonn Delaney, Garry Comerford, Ciaran O’Neill; Eoin Buggie, Colm Begley; Kilian Mcgannon, Jody Dillon, Conor Buggie; Benny Lawlor, Cillian Maher, Conor Goode. Subs: Richard Carolan for Delaney (25, inj), Colm Kelly for Mcgannon (40), Liam Clancy for C Clancy (45), Luke Kelly for C Buggie (50), John Clancy for Begley (55, inj)

ARLES-KILLEEN: Ciaran Bizzell; Gerry McWey, James Mahon, Andrew Wall; Michael Wall, Dermot Julian, Enda O’Rourke; Joe Mahon, John Mahon; Arnie Mahon, Sean O’Shea, Niall O’Rourke; Conor Keightley, Billy O’Loughlin, Brendan O’Shea. Subs: Ricky Dunne for S O’Shea (10, inj), Tom McWey for G McWey (17, inj)

Referee: Brendan McCann (Portarlington)

Clonaslee-St Manman’s 2-13 Arles-Kilcruise 1-8
ACFL Division 1B Round 6

Goals from Cathal Lee and Niall Corbet helped Clonaslee-St Manman’s to an eight-point win over Arles-Kilcruise this evening.

Clonaslee are safe from relegation and in with a chance of promotion from the second division.

They will take their place in the second phase of the league if they avoid defeat to Stradbally next week.

The table will be reset and the top two from that new round robin will be promoted.

A goal from Lee a minute before half time helped Clonaslee to a 1-6 to 0-4 lead at the break and Corbet got their second goal within 30 seconds of the restart to open up a big gap.

For Kilcruise it’s a fifth loss in a row and finish up their regular league fixtures next week against neighbours Ballylinan.

After that they will resume in the new format when they’ll be battling to avoid relegation to the third tier of the league.

CLONASLEE-ST MANMAN’S: Barry Kelly; DJ Callaghan, Will Young, Diarmuid Conroy; Tom Smith, Cian Conroy, Cian Callaghan; Sean Condon, Jack Owens; Ger Dunne, Cathal Lee, Bob Downey; Paddy Hyland, Niall Corbet, Josh Flynn. Subs: Glen McEvoy for Owens, Darragh Hogan for Lee, Senan Barrett for Hyland, James McRedmond for Flynn

ARLES-KILCRUISE: Ciaran Lawlor; Darragh Murphy, Mark Wall, Mick O’Shea; Jamie Conway, JP Conway, PJ Lawlor; Aodhan Lowry, Alan McLoughlin; Liam Whelan, Brendan Conway, Darragh Kealy; Arran Moore, Fran Egan, Dylan Waters.

REFEREE: Des Cooney (St Joseph’s)

SEE ALSO – Brilliant Ben does it again as Laois minor hurlers defeat Kilkenny to reach Leinster final

Previous articleAndrew McDonald: Nine reasons why pets improve mental wellbeing
Next articleDeaths in Laois – Sunday, May 8, 2022
Stradbally native Alan Hartnett is a graduate of Knockbeg College who has worked in the local and national media since 2008. Alan has a BA in Economics, Politics and Law and an MA in Journalism from DCU. His happiest moment was when Jody Dillon scored THAT goal in the Laois senior football final in 2016.