Home Sport Double success for Dunamase College as football and soccer titles secured

Double success for Dunamase College as football and soccer titles secured

Dunamase College 8-5 Coláiste Craobh Abhann Kilcoole (Wicklow) 4-9
Br Hubert First Year Shield Final 

Dunamase College were crowned Br Hubert First Year Shield winners following a high scoring final on Tuesday.

After playing with the wind in the first half, Dunamase College were leading by a narrow advantage in Wicklow at half time.

A brace of goals from captain Oisin Ó Giollagáin and 1-2 from Joe Cahill left them 3-2 to 2-4 ahead.

It was a brilliantly taken goal from Joe Cahill just before half time that gave Dunamase the lead.

After falling behind in the second half, Dunamase battled back to regain the advantage.

Joe Cahill completed his hat-trick and landed another point before Ben Malone raised a white flag.

The game was nip and tuck going into the last five minutes before Dunamase pulled away.

Captain Oisin Ó Giollagáin also completed his hat-trick with Callum Ó Lochlainn adding two further goals.

Sub Alex Sheehan finished off the scoring for Dunamase with a point to leave them worthy winners.

SCORERS – Joe Cahill 3-3, Oisin O Lochlainn 3-0, Callum O Lochlainn 2-0, Ben Malone and Alex Sheehan 0-1 each

DUNAMASE COLLEGE: Jack Ryan; Eoin Doheny, Oisín Duffin; Luke Fagan, David Valainis, Ben Malone; Joe Cahill, Cormac Breathnach; Liam Kennedy, Oisín Ó Giollagáin, Harrison Marshall; Jack Rock, Callum Ó Lochlainn. Subs: Alex Sheehan, Harry O’Neill, OJ Lawless, David Harding, Sam O’Shea, James Smyth

Dunamase College 2 Ardscoil na Trionóide 0
1st Year Midlands Regional League Division 2 final

The Dunamase College First Year soccer team claimed the Midlands League Division 2 title last week.

They showed great skill and determination against Ardscoil na Trionóide, Athy on Friday May 6.

In some poor weather conditions, Sean Conka scored both goals in a 2-0 win.

Captain on the day was Harry O’Neill while Ben Malone secured Man of the Match.

DUNAMASE: Ben Malone, Aodhán Sherwin, Oisín Duffin, Oisín Gilligan, Cormac Breathnach, Glen Johnston, David Valainis, Harry O’Neill, Alex Sheehan, Sean Conka, Jack Rock Subs: Jack Ryan, Isaac Connolly, Jayden Cruikshank, Joe Cahill, Callum Ó Lochlainn, Eoin Doheny, James Smyth, Cillian Horgan, Sam Graham O Sé, Liam Kennedy, David Harding

SEE ALSO – Plans in place to revive Past Pupils Golf Society in memory of beloved late teacher

Previous articlePlans in place for Biodiversity Week to be celebrated in Laois
Next articleLaois to play its part as week-long celebration of volunteering set to get underway