Home Gaelic Football Club Football All square in Division 2 as Park-Ratheniska and Ballyfin plus Timahoe and...

All square in Division 2 as Park-Ratheniska and Ballyfin plus Timahoe and Crettyard play out stalemates

Park-Ratheniska 0-11 Ballyfin 0-11 
ACFL Division 2 Round 6 

A last gasp Sean Moore free salvaged a draw for Ballyfin following a tight encounter with Park-Ratheniska tonight.

Killian Fitzpatrick’s charges trailed for much of the second half but a late brace of points saw them draw level.

The point means they will probably need to get a result from their final group game with Mountmellick in order to be guaranteed a place in the top four.

While Park-Ratheniska were disappointed to only emerge with a point, it does guarantee them a top four place.

As Timahoe and Crettyard also drew, it means that only Timahoe can now catch Ratheniska but they cannot pass them on the head to head rule even if they win their last two games.

Sean Moore led the line for Ballyfin in the first half with a mix of scores from play, marks and frees to bring up a total of six.

Adam Connolly was Ballyfin’s only other scorer in the first half where Park-Ratheniska had four.

Podge Dunne, Brian Dunne and Kieran Delaney all landed a brace each with James Connolly also pointing to leave it level 0-7 apiece at half time – all scores from play.

While the scoring slowed down in the second half, there was actually more excitement.

Park-Ratheniska started it really well with the first three scores via Mark Delany, Kieran Delaney and James Connolly.

Sean Moore responded with a free after 42 minutes for Ballyfin and they then tested keeper Darragh Nolan twice.

Nick Cosgrove was the first and then Jack Priestley tried his luck a couple of minutes later but the keeper showed strong hands and quick reactions to thwart them.

Darragh Connolly cut the gap further but James Connolly’s free left Ratheniska two ahead with five minutes to go.

Adam Connolly responded and then with the final kick, Jack Priestley won a free which Moore converted to snatch a draw.

SCORERS – Park-Ratheniska: James Connolly (one free) and Kieran Delaney (one free) 0-3 each, Podge Dunne and Brian Dunne 0-2 each, Mark Delany 0-1 Ballyfin: Sean Moore 0-8 (six frees, one mark), Adam Connolly 0-2, Darragh Connolly 0-1

PARK-RATHENISKA: Darragh Nolan; David McEvoy, Mark Delaney, Benny Greene; James Newell, Colm Brennan, Jimmy Langton; Podge Dunne, Richie Hitchcock; Mark Delany, Brian Dunne, Sean Tierney; James Connolly, Kieran Delaney, DJ O’Connell. Subs: Noah Fingleton for O’Connell (43), Cian Nolan for Delaney and Marc Ramsbottom for McEvoy (both 50), Stephen Knowles for Tierney (55)

BALLYFIN: Eoin Connolly; Ciaran Culleton, Allan Connolly, Cillian Rowney; Christy Conroy, Max Connolly, Ciaran Fingleton; Ricky Quillinan, Darragh Connolly; Nick Cosgrove, Ciaran Rowney; Sean Moore, Jack Priestley, Noel Walsh. Subs: Conor Dunphy for E Connolly (25, inj), Aidan Keenaghan for Walsh (ht), Eanna Lyons for Conroy (40), Byron Walsh for Lyons (55, inj)

Referee: Joe Brennan (Crettyard)

Crettyard 2-10 Timahoe 1-13 
ACFL Division 2 Round 6

Tonight’s other game in the Division also ended in a draw as Crettyard and Timahoe could not be separated at full time.

It was a frantic affair that saw referee Des Cooney hand out eight yellow cards, two black cards and a red plus award two penalties.

Colum Dunne converted one of those penalties for Timahoe midway through the second half to give them a 1-11 to 1-7 lead.

But Crettyard came roaring back and took the lead as we entered the closing stages.

However, a Colum Dunne free meant that both teams had to settle for a share of the spoils.

Crettyard must defeat St Joseph’s in their final game to have any chance of reaching the top four.

Timahoe have two games left – at home to St Joseph’s and Portarlington – and will need to win both to have the same chance.

CRETTYARD: Matt Kelly; Adam Kavanagh, Pierce Nash, James Kelly; Dara Kelly, John Brennan, Niall Purcell; Pa O’Reilly, Cormac Murphy; Mark Delaney, Patrick Brennan, Brian Brennan; Eoin O’Shea, Jonah Kelly, Barry Doyle. Subs: Michael Jordan for Nash, Eoin Delaney for Doyle

TIMAHOE: Eoin Culleton; Jimmy O’Connor, Donnchadh O’Connor, Graham Devitt; Conor Whelehan, Joe Foyle, Geoff Kennedy; Sean Ramsbottom, Colm Lalor; Mick Kennedy, James Whelehan, Colum Dunne; Conor Fitzpatrick, Terence Delaney, Robbie Foyle. Subs: Mark O’Connell for Delaney, Darren Robinson for M Kennedy, Cathal Molly for C Whelehan

Referee: Des Cooney (St Joseph’s)

SEE ALSO – Heroic Hogan and classy Coss lead the way as St Fergal’s produce remarkable comeback to claim Leinster title

Previous articleRent prices in Laois increase by 10.5% to €1,169 as supply continues to dry up
Next articleDeaths in Laois – Friday, May 13, 2022
Stradbally native Alan Hartnett is a graduate of Knockbeg College who has worked in the local and national media since 2008. Alan has a BA in Economics, Politics and Law and an MA in Journalism from DCU. His happiest moment was when Jody Dillon scored THAT goal in the Laois senior football final in 2016.