Home Gaelic Football Club Football Points scored required to decide final Division 1B places as four teams...

Points scored required to decide final Division 1B places as four teams deadlocked after tonight’s action

The Heath General

The calculators were out across the county tonight as the top four and bottom four places in Division 1B were decided.

Stradbally were already guaranteed to progress to the top four but four other teams were fighting to join them – Clonaslee-St Manman’s, The Heath, Rosenallis and Killeshin.

The Heath and Rosenallis both had a positive points difference so when The Heath won that game, both teams joined Clonaslee on eight points but had a better points difference.

Killeshin started the night at -5 while Clonaslee were +10. Killeshin defeated Arles-Killeen by 13 points to leave them on +8 points difference.

When the full time whistle went in Killeen, Stradbally and Clonaslee were drawing meaning that Killeshin were out.

However, Stradbally got two late points to win and leave Clonaslee on +8 points difference – the same as Killeshin.

So now we had to revert to points scored and Killeshin scored vastly more than Clonaslee over the seven games so they take fourth place.

The top four will be Stradbally, The Heath, Rosenallis and Killeshin and they will fight it out for league glory in a new round robin.

The bottom four will be Clonaslee, Ballylinan, Arles-Killeen and Arles-Kilcruise and they will now play again in a bid to avoid relegation.

Below are reports on how all of the matches went:

Killeshin 2-14 Arles-Killeen 1-4
ACFL Division 1B Round 7 

A late goal from Michael Doran ultimately granted Killeshin a place in the top four of Division 1B tonight.

Arles-Killeen, who had nothing to play for, made life difficult for Killeshin but they couldn’t match them on the scoreboard.

A Colin Dunne point, the first score of the game, was all they managed in the entire first half.

Luke Attride, Michael Doran, Evan Lowry, Killian Roche and Ross Bolger pointed for Killeshin but they missed a hatful of goal chances too.

Arles-Killeen pulled off two fine saves but other efforts were kicked wide as Killeshin led 0-5 to 0-1 at half time.

Colin Dunne and Adam Deering traded points when play resumed before Lowry, Jack Dowling and Evan Galligan moved Killeshin seven clear.

Billy O’Loughlin responded and then Killeen struck for a goal when Enda O’Rourke rifled home from close range at the midpoint of the half.

Conor Keightley added another point soon after but that would be Killeen’s final point.

Michael Doran instantly responded with a goal and Deering, Lowry and Roche added points.

Then with almost the final play, sub Cathal Brennan set up Doran for his second goal and that proved crucial in the end.

SCORERS – Killeshin: Michael Doran 2-2 (one free), Evan Lowry 0-4 (two frees), Killian Roche (both frees) and Adam Deering 0-2 each, Jack Dowling, Evan Galligan, Ross Bolger and Luke Attride 0-1 each Arles-Killeen: Enda O’Rourke 1-0, Colin Dunne 0-2 (one free), Billy O’Loughlin and Conor Keightley 0-1 each

ARLES-KILLEEN: Ciaran Bizzell; Andrew Wall, James Mahon, Tom McWey; Michael Wall, Dermot Julian, Enda O’Rourke; John Mahon, Richard Dunne; Conor Keightley, Billy O’Loughlin, Arnie Mahon; Niall O’Rourke, Colin Dunne, Brendan O’Shea

KILLESHIN: Killian Roche; Brendan McDonald, Jeremy Mahon, Evan Galligan; David McDermott, Arnie Mahon, Lee Dunne; Kevin Ryan, Adam Deering; Ross Bolger, Evan Lowry, Simon Attride; Jack Dowling, Michael Doran, Luke Attride Subs: Eoin Scully for McDermott and James Doogue for L Attride (both 35), Jack Thompson for Dowling (40), Podge Bolton for Dunne and Paddy Doyle for  S Attride (both 45), Cathal Brennan for Bolger (55)

Referee: Des Cooney (St Joseph’s)

The Heath 2-11 Rosenallis 0-5
ACFL Division 1B Round 7 

The Heath have found form at the right time in the league and a third win in a row this evening against Rosenallis comfortably saw them through to the top four section in Division 1B.

Rosenallis also go through but with a weakened team this evening they were no match for The Heath.

Sean Cotter’s side had lost three of their first four league games but wins over Killeshin, Rosenallis and Ballylinan sees the finish second behind Stradbally.

Good goals from James Phelan and Leon Holland in either half as well as an impressive showing from their half back line of Tony Connolly, Jimmy Nerney and Brian Ging meant The Heath were always on top.

The Heath led 1-5 to 0-4 at the break after playing against the wind and they hit 1-6 without reply in the second half before Donal Lalor pointed a long range free for Rosenallis.

With the game well up, things got a bit out of hand late on with Robbie Dowling and Mark Dunne given their marching orders.

But it made little difference to the end result and both now go through to the top four section where they will play each other again in the coming weeks.

SCORERS – The Heath: James Phelan 1-2 (0-2 frees), Leon Holland 1-2, Andrew Booth 0-3, Jimmy Nerney 0-2, Conor Booth 0-1, Brian Ging 0-1, Tom Reddy 0-1. Rosenallis: Ronan Murray 0-2 (one free), James Jackson 0-1, Brian Fitzpatrick 0-1, John Lalor 0-1 (free)

THE HEATH: Mikey Harrison; Gary Roe, Mark Phelan, Alan Whelan; Tony Connolly, Jimmy Nerney, Brian Ging; Robbie Dowling, Denis Booth; Robbie Ging, James Phelan, Tom Reddy; Leon Holland, Andrew Booth, Conor Booth. Subs: Daithi Carroll for Holland, Neil Keane for Reddy (40), JP Nerney for D Booth (injured – 46), Jake Ratcliffe for C Booth (50), Jack Reddy for Jimmy Nerney (55)

ROSENALLIS: Donal Lalor; Tommy Keating, Ruadhri C-Fennell, Paul Maher; Aodh Bowes, Cathal C-Fennell, Adam McDermott; Mark Dunne, Jimmy Hyland; Jack Claffey, Joey Shelley, Diarmuid Dooley; Ronan Murray, Brian Fitzpatrick, James Jackson. Subs: John Lalor for Keating (injured – 12), Conor Cosgrave for Bowes (injured -42), Conor Conroy for Fitzpatrick (59)

REFEREE: Eugene Dowdall (Ballylinan)

Stradbally 1-10 Clonaslee-St Manman’s 1-8 
ACFL Division 1B Round 7 

Two late points from Colm Kelly and Darragh Carolan broke Clonaslee hearts this evening and saw them miss out on a top four place.

Mark Bates’ charges fell six points down in the first half with a Benny Lawlor penalty leaving Stradbally 1-6 to 0-3 up at half time.

But the home team embarked on a dramatic comeback and drew level as we headed for seven minutes of injury time.

Darragh Carolan kicked Stradbally ahead again in the fourth minute and if the score had remained that way, both sides would have progressed.

But in the 67th minute, Colm Kelly swung over another free to see Stradbally claim a sixth win and leave Clonaslee battling relegation.

SCORERS – Clonaslee: Cathal Lee 1-2, Niall Corbet and Paddy Hyland and Ger Dunne 0-2 each Stradbally: Benny Lawlor 1-1, Colm Kelly 0-5 (four frees), Darragh Carolan 0-3 (two frees), Liam Knowles 0-1

CLONASLEE ST MANMAN’S: Barry Kelly; DJ O’Callaghan, Ger Dunne, Diarmuid Conroy; Cian Callaghan, Cian Conroy, Tom Smith; Jack Owens, Sean Condon, Will Young, Cathal Lee, Bob Downey; Paddy Hyland, Niall Corbet, Josh Flynn

STRADBALLY: Jack Larkin; Colm Clancy, Liam Knowles, Jack Langton; Colin Beale, Garry Comerford, Ciaran O’Neill; Kilian Mcgannon, Eoin Buggie; Cillian Maher, Darragh Carolan, Conor Goode; Benny Lawlor, Colm Kelly, Conor Buggie

SEE ALSO – Check out all our coverage of the Laois minor hurlers here

Previous articleIn Pictures: Brilliant fun as Laois Comhairle na nOg organise Colour Run in Vicarstown
Next articleO’Flaherty on form as St Joseph’s see off Ballyroan-Abbey to claim top four Division 1A place
Stradbally native Alan Hartnett is a graduate of Knockbeg College who has worked in the local and national media since 2008. Alan has a BA in Economics, Politics and Law and an MA in Journalism from DCU. His happiest moment was when Jody Dillon scored THAT goal in the Laois senior football final in 2016.