Home Sport GAA Ballyroan-Abbey continue winning ways as they see off Annanough to claim league...

Ballyroan-Abbey continue winning ways as they see off Annanough to claim league honours

Ballyroan-Abbey intermediate

Ballyroan-Abbey 1-15 Annanough 0-9
ACFL Division 3A Final

Ballyroan-Abbey have developed a considerable winning habit at underage over the past decade and after a handful of minor titles in the last couple of years and an U-20 last season, it’s now beginning to translate at adult level.

For now it’s with their second team as they claimed a second successive league title in O’Moore Park this evening by getting the better of Annanough.

This team won Division 3B of the league last year as well as the Junior ‘A’ championship and this success means they’ve claimed back-to-back promotions as only the winner of this division goes up.

They were deserving winners here though Annanough hung in for as long as they could before Ballyroan finished with a flurry of late scores.

Charlie Whelan and Colm Walsh put them into an early lead with points and though Simon Shortall replied with a free, a ninth minute Charlie Thompson goal gave Ballyroan a cushion they’d hold for the remainder of the game.

Simon Shortall was very impressive for Annanough and got the bulk of their scores though the long-serving James Miller chipped in with one nice effort from distance too in the opening half.

But the scores came easier for Ballyroan and with Killian Byrne, Evan McEvoy, Conor Brennan, James McWey and Charlie Whelan with a couple all pointing, Ballyroan led 1-9 to 0-4 at half time.

Shortall got the first couple of points for Annanough for the second half and John Scully also pointed a free. In a slow-burning second half there was only five points in it as the game entered the final ten minutes.

But a well-struck 45 from Evan McEvoy was the catalyst for them to kick for home and sub Enda McWey kicked three fabulous points and James McWey got two.

Rory Stapleton saw a late goal chance go over the bar but but Ballyroan duly held on to win by nine.

Ballyroan now go forward to the intermediate championship in a couple of weeks while Annanough head for the Junior ‘A’ where they’ll be seeking to build on last year’s semi-final showing.

SCORERS – Ballyroan-Abbey: Charlie Whelan 0-4 (one free, one mark), Enda McWey and James McWey 0-3 each, Stephen Thompson 1-0, Evan McEvoy 0-2 (one 45), Killian Byrne, Conor Brennan, Colm Walsh 0-1 each, Annanough: Simon Shortall 0-6 (five frees), John Scully (free), Rory Stapleton and James Miller 0-1 each

BALLYROAN-ABBEY: Mark McDonald; Cian Moffitt, Gavin Tynan, Patrick Whelan; Killian Byrne, Ruairi Dunne, Evan McEvoy; Conor Brennan, Michael Brennan; Colm Walsh, James McWey, Stephen Thompson; Dylan Cuddy, Niall Walsh, Charlie Whelan. Subs: Alan McWey for Thompson (40), Ben McDonald for Cuddy (44), Danny Brennan for M Brennan (48), Enda McWey for C Walsh (48), Conor McWey for N Walsh (52)

ANNANOUGH: Sean Hennessy; Lee Davis, Rory Stapleton, Andrew Murphy; Cathal Kelliher, Conor Donlon, Simon Shortall; John Scully, Jack Fennelly; John Fennelly, Ronan Donlon, David Fennelly; Conor Whearty, Shane Stapleton, James Miller. Subs: Donal Miller for Whearty (HT), Seamus Stapleton for J Miller (40), Ciaran Hennessy for R Donlon (40), Cyril Darcy for D Fennelly (52)

REFEREE: John Flynn (The Rock)

SEE ALSO – LaoisToday launches digital subscription model for sports coverage

SEE ALSO – Talking Sport Podcast: Mags McEvoy looks ahead to Laois Ladies’ All-Ireland semi final against Clare

Previous articleLaois County Council launch campaign aimed at tackling gum litter
Next articleDeaths in Laois – Saturday, July 9, 2022
Steven Miller is owner and managing editor of LaoisToday.ie. From Laois, Steven studied Journalism in DCU and has 14 years experience in the media, almost 10 of those in an editorial role. Husband of Emily, father of William and Lillian, he's happiest when he's telling stories or kicking a point.