Home Sport Soccer In Pictures: Laois soccer club celebrates first awards day since 2019

In Pictures: Laois soccer club celebrates first awards day since 2019

For the first time since 2019, T&S United held an awards evening to celebrate their achievements in the 2021/2022 season recently. 

The soccer club is based in Timahoe but draws players from there, Stradbally, Vicarstown, The Heath, Portlaoise, Ratheniska, Ballyadams and Spink. 

They compete in the Midlands Schoolboys League alongside clubs predominantly from Laois, Offaly and Westmeath – plus parts of Tipperary and Galway. 

T&S had teams at U-9, U-10, U-11, U-12 and U-14 this season as well as an academy catering for children from the age of five to eight. 

All teams are mixed with boys and girls playing together at all of the age groups. 

After two Covid-19 hit years, this was the first full season of games with action beginning last August and concluding in May. 

League soccer in Ireland is non-competitive up to U-12 so all children playing on teams below that received a participation medal from the MSL. 

The league runs competitive cup competitions for these age groups and T&S had success in two them. 

The U-9 Red team won the Shield while the U-11 Orange team were victorious in the Europa League. 

T&S also enjoyed league success too as the U-12s claimed glory in the East Division.  

The club also recognised the achievements of two of their former players – Niamh Dundon and Keelin Moore. 

They were both part of the Portlaoise AFC team that claimed All-Ireland U-14 glory recently. 

Niamh was present at the awards night and later helped to present medals to all of the other players. 

James O’Callaghan was named Club Person of the Year and his award was presented by chairman Dominic Hartnett. 

While club secretary Alan Hartnett was also presented with a Services to Football which was awarded to him by the Midlands Schoolboys League. 

List of Award Winners

Coaches Player of the Year
U-9 Red – Cian McDonald
U-9 Blue – Eddie Ramsbottom
U-10 Joint Winners – Oran Lawlor and Jack Bergin
U-11 Orange – James Lynch
U-11 Purple – Sean Gormley
U-12 – Ryan Tully
U-14 – Barry Connolly

Golden Boot
U-9 Red Joint Winners – Luke Langford and Charlie Garvan
U-9 Blue Joint Winners – Lucas Lalor and Sean Kelly
U-10 – Jack Ryan
U-11 Orange – Darragh O’Riordan
U-11 Purple – Aidan McDonald
U-12 – Ryan Conlon
U-14 – Rhys Devoy

Referee’s Player of the Year
U-10 – Billy Conroy
U-11 Orange – Jack Davis
U-11 Purple – Kayleigh O’Callaghan
U-12 – Adam Whelan
U-14 – Andrew Whelan

Player’s Player of the Year
U-9 Red Joint Winners – Alex Haslam and Scott Dumbrell
U-9 Blue – Ben Lalor
U-12 – Mark Hanley
U-14 – Conor Headen

Player of the Tournament 
U-9 Red – Cian Tully
U-9 Blue – Cillian Fingleton
U-10 – Ryan McEvoy
U-11 Orange – Joey Foley
U-11 Purple – Sean Burke

Special Awards 
MSL U-11 Squad – Killian Hendy 
U-14 All-Ireland Girls Winners – Keelin Moore and Niamh Dundon
Club Person of the Year – James O’Callaghan 

Check out some great pictures from the awards ceremony below: 


Previous articleThree young Laois people receive Gaisce Gold Award honour for outstanding contribution to society
Next articleIn Pictures: €15,000 each for three charities following recent open day at Abbey Leix House estate
Steven Miller is owner and managing editor of LaoisToday.ie. Husband of Emily, father of William, Lillian and John, he's happiest when he's telling stories