Home News Community Tidy Towns results announced as Abbeyleix top Laois list once again

Tidy Towns results announced as Abbeyleix top Laois list once again

Abbeyleix has once again be listed as the highest scorer in Laois in the national Tidy Towns results announced today.

They recorded a score of 362, which was the highest score of the 19 Laois entrants. Abbeyleix had been the overall national small town winner in last year’s competition. 

Trim in Meath was the overall winner, as well as the winner of the tidiest large town. Ennis in Clare was the tidiest large urban centre while Clonakilty in Cork was the winner of the small town category that Abbeyleix were in and Rosscarbery, also in Cork, won Ireland’s tidiest village.

The results were announced in Dublin today.

Ballacolla, with 342, but in Category A for the smaller population bases under 200, was second in Laois, with Durrow in Category B (population of 201-1,000) recording a score of 340 and finishing third.

Durrow were also highly commended in the national ‘Young Persons’ category and were awarded €1,000. Cahir in Tipperary were the winner of that category.

Portarlington, in Category F, were given an Endeavour Award in Laois (which acknowledges the highest percentage increase on the previous year).

Portlaoise, in the highest population Category G, were given a Silver medal for coming within 30 marks of the overall winner.

The full list of Laois results is as follows:

Category A

  • Ballacolla – 342 (County 2nd)
  • Emo – 328
  • Clough – 320
  • Cullohill – 318
  • Spink – 273
  • Pike of Rushall – 253
  • Killeen – 217

Category B

  • Durrow – 340 (County 3rd)
  • Castletown – 339
  • Clonaslee – 325
  • Borris-in-Ossory – 308
  • Ballinakill – 239
  • Ballybrittas – 239

Category C

  • Abbeyleix – 362 (County 1st and Gold Medal)
  • Stradbally – 323
  • Mountrath – 304

Category D

  • Mountmellick – 296

Category F

  • Portarlington – 297 (Endeavour Award)

Category G

  • Portlaoise – 337 (Silver Medal)


Previous articleSadness at the death of Noel Ramsbottom from Timahoe
Next articleLaois hurlers set to be without Ballinakill duo but new boss enthused as panel takes shape for 2023 season