Home Sport Soccer In Pictures: Glory for Portlaoise CBS as they claim Mid-Leinster ‘A’ U-17...

In Pictures: Glory for Portlaoise CBS as they claim Mid-Leinster ‘A’ U-17 soccer league title

Portlaoise CBS U-17 Mid-Leinster Soccer League Winners Main

Portlaoise CBS 4 Ardscoil na Trionoide Athy 2 (AET)
Mid-Leinster ‘A’ U-17 Soccer League Final 

Portlaoise CBS were crowned U-17 ‘A’ Mid-Leinster Soccer League champions following a titanic tussle in Killeshin this afternoon.

There was plenty of Laois involvement in the game as Portlaoise’s opponents were Ardscoil na Trionoide of Athy.

The sides could not be separated in normal time as they shared four goals but the CBS won it in extra time.

The game started off with both teams getting their fair share of possession of the ball.

It was end to end play but St Mary’s CBS got a break through with Charles Ogundere getting a super finish in the box.

Ardscoil then got control of the game and got two goals back in the space of a few minutes.

Jack McCabe and Callum Kearney were both on target as the Kildare school led 2-1 at half time.

In the second half, St Mary’s CBS got themselves another goal from Charles Ogundere to put pressure back on Athy with captain Darragh Prendergast really controlling the game.

The game was back and forth and eventually ended 2-2 at full time with 20 minutes of extra time to come.

But the CBS proved too strong and Darren Brennan got the goal to put St. Mary’s up 3-2.

In the end, Conor O’Callaghan sealed the win on what was a momentous occasion for the school.

PORTLAOISE CBS: Liam Conroy; Danny Farrell, George Okpara, Oran McEvoy, Jack O’Sullivan, Darragh Prendergast (C), Darren Brennan, Tommy Dwane, Charles Ogundere, Conor O’Callaghan, Desmond Peters. Subs: Elijah Emmanuel, Ben O’Connor, Ben Dillon, Hactneil Mbeba, Johnson Lionde, Cathal Tierney, Harry McGree, Tanis Sahuquillo, David Donohue, Ben Boachie, Ryan Morton and Jake Kelly

Coaches: Brian Glavin and Niamh Hyland

SEE ALSO – Our School: Steeped in history but now a modern rural primary school – Scoil Fionntáin Naofa, Shanahoe