Home Sport GAA Laois U-20 footballers announce panel and starting team for championship opener with...

Laois U-20 footballers announce panel and starting team for championship opener with Carlow

Laois U-20 footballers

The Laois U-20 footballers have named their starting team for the Leinster championship opener against Carlow.

Tom Byrne and Sean O’Shea have also named their bench and full panel ahead of the game.

Laois lost out to Kildare in the quarter final last year and six of the team that started that game start again.

Conor Brown, Ben Dempsey, Simon Fingleton, Ben Reddin, Conor Heffernan and Shaun Fitzpatrick are all named again.

Darragh Slevin and Oisin Hooney made substitute appearances in that game and are down to start here.

While Colin Dunne, who kicked six points in the loss to Kildare, is among the substitutes with Davin McEvoy, who scored a goal from centre forward last year, on the extended panel.

There are two of last year’s minor team on the squad this year and both of them have been selected to start.

Annanough’s Jake Darcy comes in at corner back while Emo’s Davy Costello is named at corner forward.

Laois face Carlow in Dr Cullen Park at 7.30pm on Tuesday evening and you will be able to follow all of the action on our Live Blog.

You can check out the starting team, subs and full panel below:


1 – Conor Brown (Portlaoise)
2 – Jake Darcy (Annanough)
3 – Ben Dempsey (Portlaoise)
4 – Sean McGrath (Graiguecullen)
5 – Conor McWey (Ballyroan-Abbey)
6 – Simon Fingleton (Park-Ratheniska)
7 – Darragh Slevin (Portarlington)
8 – Ben Reddin (Portlaoise)
9 – Conor Heffernan (Killeshin)
10 – Josh Hogan (Portlaoise)
11 – Oisin Hooney (St Joseph’s)
12 – Shaun Fitzpatrick (Ballyroan-Abbey)
13 – Davy Costello (Emo)
14 – Jack Byrne (Graiguecullen)
15 – Conor Kelly (Graiguecullen)

Subs: Oisin Ramsbottom (Timahoe), Colin McEvoy (Portlaoise), Stephen Lennon (O’Dempsey’s), Tom Fennelly (Emo), Killian Byrne (Ballyroan-Abbey), John Brennan (Crettyard), Cathal Lee (Clonaslee-St Manman’s), Colin Dunne (Arles-Killeen), Jonah Kelly (Crettyard)

Additional Panel Members: Liam Kehoe (Spink), Dara Kelly (Crettyard), Sam Quinn (Ballyroan-Abbey), Daire Scully (Clonaslee-St Manman’s), Cian Conroy (Clonaslee-St Manman’s), Finn Culleton (Mountmellick), Padraig Rafter (Rathdowney), Adam O’Halloran (Courtwood), Noah Fingleton (Park-Ratheniska), Davin McEvoy (Ballyroan-Abbey), Cormac Murphy (St Joseph’s)

SEE ALSO – Check out all our weekend sports coverage here

Previous articleJOB VACANCIES: Abbeyleix Manor Hotel seeking to fill numerous positions
Next articleIn Pictures: Seachtain na Gaeilge a huge success at Dunamase College
Stradbally native Alan Hartnett is a graduate of Knockbeg College who has worked in the local and national media since 2008. Alan has a BA in Economics, Politics and Law and an MA in Journalism from DCU. His happiest moment was when Jody Dillon scored THAT goal in the Laois senior football final in 2016.