Home News Community Several young Laois people honoured at Laois/Offaly Garda Divisional Youth Awards 2024

Several young Laois people honoured at Laois/Offaly Garda Divisional Youth Awards 2024

Laois/Offaly Garda Youth Awards in The Killeshin Hotel, Portlaoise. Portlaoise Award winner- Matty Doyle with Youthwork Ireland Laois and Knockmay Portlaoise FRC members. Photo: Michael Scully

The 2024 Laois/Offaly Garda Divisional Youth Awards took place recently The Killeshin Hotel, Portlaoise.

The awards ceremony honours young people from the Laois/Offaly Garda Division in the company of their family and peers.

A Garda Youth Award recognises the outstanding achievement of young people between the ages of 13 and 21, who have undertaken exceptional work in their local communities or who have shown great determination in their own lives.

“The stories of the winners last night were emotional, inspiring and remarkable,” a Garda representative said.

“They served to demonstrate the strength of character which our young people possess and leaves us in no doubt that our future is in safe hands.

“An Garda Síochána is delighted to award these young people for their outstanding achievements and their contribution to their local communities.”

Individual Award winners:

  • Matty Doyle, Youth Work Ireland Laois
  • Luke Lynam, Family Carer’s Ireland
  • Charlie Beaudelot, Offaly Comhairle na nÓg
  • Rachel Fennelly, Laois Civil Defence
  • Eoin Moylan, Colaiste Naomh Cormac

Group Award winners:

  • Rahman Youth Group, Portlaoise
  • Dignity Partnership, Portlaoise
  • Portlaoise Resource Centre, Senior Youth Club
  • Cordelia Joyce and Elisha McDonagh, Offaly Traveller Movement
  • The Order of Malta Cadets, Portlaoise

Special Achievement winners:

  • Michael Dennedy, St Brendan’s Community School, Birr
  • Danny Talbot, Coláiste Íosagáin, Portarlington
  • Chandell Mongan, Sihann Mongan, Amelia Dooley, Ebony McDonagh, Fusion Tullamore
  • Patryk Paszkiewicz, Old Bank Youth Centre, Portlaoise
  • Max Power, Fusion Portlaoise
  • Liam Hoare, St. Brendan’s Community School, Birr

Special Recognition Award winners: 

  • Freya Maher, Banagher College – Coláiste na Sionna
  • The Student Community of St. Mary’s CBS, Portlaoise
Laois/Offaly Garda Youth Awards in The Killeshin Hotel.  Photo: Michael Scully

The MC for the evening was Anne Marie Kelly of MidlandsIreland.ie, with special guest on the night, Ronan Belle of Tullamore band, ‘Chasing Abbey’.

This year’s awards were presented by Chief Superintendent Anthony Lonergan, Laois/Offaly Garda Division, Superintendent Eamonn Curley, Portlaoise District and Superintendent John Lawless, Tullamore District.

Mr Pat McDonagh and Pádraic Ó’Neachtain of sponsors, Supermacs and the Só Hotel Group were present.

Also attending on the night were members of the Garda Youth Awards Committee and the Judging Panel – Mr Stephen Grant of Grant Engineering, Jackie Carroll of Laois Chamber Alliance, Philip Peake, Group General Manager of Só Hotels and Inspector Jane Ryan, Portlaoise. Anne Marie Kelly was also a member of the Judging Panel.

Musical entertainment was provided by local talent Alright Then headed by singer/songwriter Conor McLoughlin. The ceremony concluded with beautiful traditional music provided by the The Portlaoise Branch of Comhaltas Ceoltóirí Éireann.

An amazing evening was had by all at the Killeshin Hotel in the company of so many wonderful young people and their families and friends.

SEE ALSO – Three Laois Gardai among 165 new recruits who pass out from Templemore