Home Sport GAA Laois 3-18 NUI Galway 0-22

Laois 3-18 NUI Galway 0-22

Ross King in full flight for Laois against Ian Fox, NUIG in the Walsh Cup at Rathdowney. Picture: Alf Harvey/HRPhoto.ie

The Laois hurlers recovered from a slow start to give manager Eamon Kelly a winning start in the Walsh Cup in Rathdowney on Sunday.

NUI Galway were 0-11 to 0-2 up at one stage in the first half but a Ben Conroy goal got Laois back into contention and it was 0-13 to 1-6 at the break.

Goals from Willie Dunphy and Ross King swung the game in Laois’s favour in the second half and with PJ Scully on target from frees and from play, Laois pushed on for a five-point win.

Next weekend they also face student opposition as DIT come to Rathdowney while they finish up the group stages with a home game against Galway. Galway were 1-30 to 0-12 winners over DIT on Sunday.

SCORERS – Laois: PJ Scully 0-12 (five frees), Willie Dunphy 1-2, Ross King 1-1, Ben Conroy 1-0, Aidan Corby, Sean Downey and Paddy Purcell 0-1 each. NUI Galway: A Helebert 0-10 (seven frees, one ‘65), S Conlon 0-3, G Forde and I Fox 0-2 each, C Ryan, C Cleary, G Hennelly, S Barrett and J Commins 0-1 each

1. Eoin Fleming (Borris-in-Ossory-Kilcotton)
2. Eoin Doyle (Clough Ballacolla)
3. Conor Phelan (Castletown)
4. Paddy Purcell (Rathdowney-Errill)
5. Ryan Mullaney (Castletown)
6. Leigh Bergin (Shanahoe)
7. Sean Downey (Ballinakill)
8. Paddy Whelan (Borris-in-Ossory-Kilcotton)
9. Adrian Corby (Clough-Ballacolla)
10. Eanna Lyons (Ballyfin)
11. Ben Conroy (Slieve Bloom)
12. PJ Scully (Borris-in-Ossory-Kilcotton)
13. Willie Dunphy (Clough Ballacolla)
14. Neil Foyle (Borris-in-Ossory-Kilcotton)
15. Ross King (Rathdowney Errill)

Paddy Keating for Foyle (46 mins)
Aaron Dunphy for Corby (55 mins)
Stephen Bergin for Lyons (60 mins)
Eric Killeen for Whelan (62 mins)

NUI Galway
1. C Tuohy
2. B Fitzpatrick
3. F Killeen
4. G Forde
5. C Ryan
6. C Cleary
7. M Connelly
8. I Fox
9. O Donnellon
10. C Smyth
11. S Conlon
12. G Loughnane
13. G Hennelly
14. A Helebert
15. S Barrett

G Fennelly for Killeen (42 mins)
S Whelan for Fitzpatrick (60 mins)
J Commins for Loughnane (63 mins)

REFEREE: G Quilty (Kilkenny)

Previous articlePort suffer big loss to Cill Dara
Next articleKingston hits 1-7 as Laois off to winning start in O’Byrne Cup
Steven Miller is owner and managing editor of LaoisToday.ie. From Laois, Steven studied Journalism in DCU and has 14 years experience in the media, almost 10 of those in an editorial role. Husband of Emily, father of William and Lillian, he's happiest when he's telling stories or kicking a point.