Home Sport GAA County champions Borris-Kilcotton under new management

County champions Borris-Kilcotton under new management

Camross manager Arien Delaney is back for a fifth year in charge
Arien Delaney

Senior hurling champions Borris-Kilcotton will look to regain the Bob O’Keeffe Cup under new management this year.

Ken Hogan has returned to his home club, Lorrah in Tipperary, leaving a big pair of boots behind him.

These will be filled by local man Ronan Kelly, who has been a selector under Hogan for the past couple of years.

Portlaoise have announced that most high profile appointment to date in Seamus Cheddar Plunkett.

The Town have struggled to convert underage success into senior honours and the former Laois manager will surely make it his mission to change that.

Runners-up Rathdowney-Errill have decided to retain the services of Brian Young for another year.

He led the team to a Division 1 title last year and they came so close to the double last September only to be denied by Borris-Kilcotton in a brilliant game.

Clough-Ballacolla will be confident of gaining some early season momentum as they will have the services of Willie Hyland and Darren Maher, who have retired from and opted out of the Laois panel for 2017 respectively, from the beginning.

The 2015 winners have turned to Castlecomer native Tommy Buggy who will take the reins from Kevin Martin who was in charge last year.

Having led his club to one senior title in the past four years, Arien Delaney will continue as manager of Camross for a fifth season.

Delaney was linked with the Laois minor job this year but he decided to opt out of the running in order to focus on his club career for another season.

Mark Tyrell will not be returning as Abbeyleix manager this year and chairman Richard Kennedy has confirmed to LaoisToday that they have appointed Donal Franks as his successor.

Birr man Franks will also be joined by an Abbeyleix man at the helm but that person has not been selected yet.

Elsewhere, after guiding Castletown to the Senior A title last year, Paul Cuddy will not be returning for 2017.

Castletown are set to make a decision on his replacement shortly. Ballinakill are also on the hunt after parting company with James Carroll and the announcement of his successor is expected this week.

Previous articleDouble up for Laois schools at South Leinster cross country
Next articleLaois have a new Rose co-ordinator after Anne Marie steps aside
Stradbally native Alan Hartnett is a graduate of Knockbeg College who has worked in the local and national media since 2008. Alan has a BA in Economics, Politics and Law and an MA in Journalism from DCU. His happiest moment was when Jody Dillon scored THAT goal in the Laois senior football final in 2016.