Home Sport GAA Comerford scores 2-7 as Laois minor footballers hammer Wexford

Comerford scores 2-7 as Laois minor footballers hammer Wexford

Ciaran Comerford was excellent for Laois in Newbridge today
Ciaran Comerford

Laois 4-15 Wexford 0-6

Leinster Minor Football League

Ciaran Comerford helped himself to a whopping 2-7 as the Laois minor footballers proved much too strong for Wexford in the opening round of the Leinster League in Ferns on Saturday afternoon.

Under new manager Noel Delaney from Ballyroan, Laois had far too much for their hosts. An Alan Kinsella goal in the opening half had Laois 1-7 to 0-3 up at the break but The Harps man Comerford ran amok in the second half – in spells at midfield and full-forward – as they eased to a 21-point win.

Laois were beaten in the Leinster minor final last year by Kildare and later lost the All Ireland quarter-final to Galway.

This year will be the last year of the minor championship being for U-18 players as it will switch to U-17 in 2018.  Laois play Louth in the opening round of the Leinster championship on April 22.

SCORERS – Laois: Ciaran Comerford 2-7, Sean O’Flynn 1-1, Alan Kinsella 1-0, Mark Barry and Ronan McEvoy 0-2 each, Conor Slevin, Jason Maher, Eoin Dunne 0-1 each

1. Tom McCann (Portarlington)
2. Michael Dowling (Portlaoise)
3. Gary Saunders (Portlaoise)
4. Daniel Comerford (The Harps)
5. Cian Langford (Emo)
6. Sean O’Flynn (Courtwood)
7. Colin Slevin (Portarlington)
8. Ciaran Comerford (The Harps)
9. John Rogers (Ballyroan)
10. Mark Barry (O’Dempsey’s)
11. Alan Kinsella (Courtwood)
12. Ronan McEvoy (Portlaoise)
13. Jason Maher (Portlaoise)
14. Niall Dunne (Courtwood)
15. Damien McCaul (Annanough)

Seamus Lacey (Ballylinan) for Kinsella
Dean Brophy (St Joseph’s) for McCaul
Padraig Delaney (The Harps) for Dowling
Eoin Dunne (Rosenallis) for N Dunne
Cathal Duggan (Portlaoise) for Maher
Seamus McEvoy (Emo) for G Saunders


Previous articleWins for St Joseph’s, Emo and Killeshin in Kelly Cup
Next articleStradbally and Graigue win in Kelly Cup
Steven Miller is owner and managing editor of LaoisToday.ie. From Laois, Steven studied Journalism in DCU and has 14 years experience in the media, almost 10 of those in an editorial role. Husband of Emily, father of William and Lillian, he's happiest when he's telling stories or kicking a point.