Home Sport Soccer Rafter snatches vital win for Portlaoise AFC

Rafter snatches vital win for Portlaoise AFC

Pegasus-St. James Ath 0 Portlaoise AFC 1

Leinster Senior League Division 1B

Aaron Rafter’s injury time strike kept Portlaoise’s promotion ambitions alive after a hard fought win in Dublin this morning.

The Laois outfit had recorded three successive league draws before this one but this win moves them up to second place in the table, with just goal difference separating them from Inchicore Athletic.

However, it looked like they were facing a fourth straight draw as an admittedly under-par performance saw them level as the game ticked into it’s 95th minute.

Jason Murphy was denied a clear penalty in the dying stages against Inchicore last week and the same fate befell him again this morning when he was hauled down but the referee waved play on.

But substitute Aaron Rafter reacted quickest as the ball broke free in the box and he finished neatly from six yards to snatch a vital victory.

Portlaoise are on the road again next week when they travel back to Dublin once again to take on fourth placed side Greenhills/Greenpark FC on Sunday morning.

A win here would help put clear water between the Laois lads and the rest of the chasing pack as the race for promotion hots up.

Mateusz Cwienk
Jimmy Dermody
Eoghan White
Mark Brennan
Oisin Fitzpatrick
Martin Stauntoin
Emmanuel Okpara
James Mullaney
Colm Poole
Paul Cahillane
Jason Murphy

Robbie Ging for White (Half Time)
Shane Collins for Brennan (62 mins)
Aaron Rafter for Poole (70 mins)
Brian Ging for R. Ging (77 mins)
Jason Bergin for Murphy (95 mins)

Previous articlePortlaoise look to reach Towns Cup quarter-final
Next articleMixed fortunes for Laois teams in CCFL cups
Stradbally native Alan Hartnett is a graduate of Knockbeg College who has worked in the local and national media since 2008. Alan has a BA in Economics, Politics and Law and an MA in Journalism from DCU. His happiest moment was when Jody Dillon scored THAT goal in the Laois senior football final in 2016.