Home GAA Ladies Football Scoil Chríost Rí beaten despite late comeback

Scoil Chríost Rí beaten despite late comeback

The Scoil Chríost Rí team who lost out in the All-Ireland semi-final
The Scoil Chríost Rí team who lost out in the All-Ireland semi-final

Scoil Chríost Rí 1-11 Ballygawley 5-4

Lidl Ladies Gaelic Football All-Ireland PPS Senior ‘A’ Semi-Final

Scoil Chríost Rí’s pursuit of All-Ireland glory is over after they were beaten by a goal-hungry Ballygawley side in Ashbourne this afternoon.

The Portlaoise school started well and eased into a two point lead after 10 minutes thanks to efforts from Laois ladies senior footballer Erone Fitzpatrick and Grainne Moran.

However, their Tyrone opponents soon found their stride and scored three goals in the remaining twenty minutes to leave the half time score reading 3-3 to 0-3 in Ballygawley’s favour – a late Jennifer O’Neill point stemming the flow for Scoil Chríost Rí.

John Scully’s side began the second half well by clawing back a goal just after the resumption of play courtesy of centre forward Gráinne Moran but Ballygawley pilled on the pressure once more.

They raised two more green flags to move into a seemingly unassailable lead of 5-4 to 1-5 with 18 minutes to play.

But to the Leinster champions credit, they made a right game of it in the final quarter.

Scoil Chríost Rí reeled off six unanswered points thanks to Emma Lawlor, Isabella O’Toole, Jennifer O’Neill and Fitzpatrick to move within four points of the Ulster champions as we entered into the final stages of the game.

The Portlaoise girls needed at least another goal to catch the Tyrone outfit but it never came and the Scoil Chríost Rí journey for this year is at an end.

Aimee Keane
Deidre Phelan
Rebecca Reddin
Roisin Larkin
Zoe Keegan
Elaine Daly
Mary Cotter
Alannah O’Toole
Maeve Phelan
Erone Fitzpatrick (0-6)
Gráinne Moran (1-1)
Isabella O’Toole (0-2)
Emma Lawlor (0-1)
Alice Dunne
Jennifer O’Neill (0-1)

Julia Cahill
Sophie Delahunt
Eabha Dunne
Aoife Daly
Amy Byrne
Eimear Healy
Charlie Walsh
Emily Gowing
Ciara Byrne
Sarah Larkin
Niamh Ryan
Blathnaid Connolly
Aoife Hyland