Home GAA Camogie Second half goals ensure Laois camogie team gain first league win

Second half goals ensure Laois camogie team gain first league win

The Laois U-17 Celtic Challenge panel has been named

Laois 2-11 Down 2-7

Littlewoods Ireland National Camogie League Division 2

Two goals in the space of a minute turned this game in Laois’s favour in the second half as they went on to record their first victory of the season.

Laois had been disappointing in defeat against Carlow last week but they played much better in Camross this afternoon to seal a win which gives them a chance to stay up heading into the final round of games.

Within the first minute, a foul on Aisling O’Dea gave Sarah Ann Fitzgerald the opportunity to put Laois on the scoreboard, which she duly took.

Down’s Captain Niamh Mallon converted a free and passed off a ball for Dearbhla Magee to get the next point from play.

However, continual fouling from the Down backs on Laois forwards gave Sarah Ann Fitzgerald opportunities to convert four more frees while a point from Mary Keating sent Laois in with a 0-6 to 0-4 lead at the break.

Down made the perfect start to the second half when Ciara MaGee raised the first green flag of the afternoon but Laois hit straight back through Fitzgerald and O’Dea points.

The same pair added further Laois points but Down replied with another goal when substitute Orla Gribben reacted quickest to Niamh Mallon’s mishit free which she palmed into the net.

But Laois kept going and they scored two goals between the 48th and 50th minutes. Linda Keyes grabbed the first before the excellent Fitzgerald capped a fine individual performance with a goal.

While points from Sarah Ann & Mary Keating gave Laois the edge to hold on to their first win of the League.

Next up for Laois is Kilkenny away on April 2.

Laura Dunne (St Brigid’s)
Aoife Collier (Camross)
Niamh Coss (St. Brigid’s)
Joan Dollard (The Harps)
Roisin Kilmartin (St. Brigid’s)
Aisling Burke (Camross)
Alison Mc Evoy (O’Moores)
Sarah Creagh (St. Brigid’s)
Elizabeth Ryan (Camross)
Sarah Ann Fitzgerald (Camross 1-8)
Rosemaire Bermingham (O’Moores)
Mary Keating (0-2 O’Moores)
Aisling O’Dea (St. Brigid’s 0-1)
Laura Peake (O’Moores)
Linda Keyes (1-0 Camross)
Casey Conroy (O’Moores) for Peake
Holly Kilcare (St. Brigids) for Keyes
Rebecca Williams (O’Moores) for Dollard
Eimear Guidrea (St. Brigid’s) for O’Dea
Kate Gaughan (Naomh Eamonn) for Dunne