Home Sport GAA O’Dempsey’s get back on track against Ballyroan-Abbey

O’Dempsey’s get back on track against Ballyroan-Abbey

O'Dempsey's got back to winning ways last night
O'Dempsey's got back to winning ways last night

O’Dempsey’s 2-7 Ballyroan-Abbey 2-4

ACFL Division 1A

O’Dempsey’s recovered from a set back against St Joseph’s last weekend to pick up their second win of the season away to Ballyroan-Abbey yesterday evening.

The Killenard outfit have now won two of their first three games since gaining promotion to Division 1A and look well placed to mount a title challenge at this early stage.

The same cannot be said for their opponents Ballyroan-Abbey. This result spelled their third consecutive defeat at this higher level and left them tied in the relegation zone with Arles-Killeen at this early stage.

In what was a ow scoring affair, Eoin Finlay kicked the first point for O’Dempsey’s in the third minute but they would fail to score again for 15 minutes.

In the meantime, Ballyroan-Abbey struck for the game’s first goal through Martin Scully and quickly followed this up with a point from Colin Kinsella.

Seán McMahon hit back for O’Dempsey’s with a point and Michael Finlay gave them the lead with their first goal but Ballyroan-Abbey were in their stride now and their second goal arrived in the 20th minute thanks to Ciarán Carroll.

Shane Nerney and Eoghan Whelan traded points before the interval and the half time whistle sent the sides into the dressing room with the scoreline reading 2-2 to 1-3 in Ballyroan’s favour.

O’Dempsey’s blew their opponents away in the third quarter of the game.

Michael Finlay and Bryan Nugent split the posts after wing forward Matthew Finlay had beaten Andrew Bonham to raise the fourth green flag of the evening.

Ballyroan-Abbey responded via Mark McDonald and Martin Scully but O’Dempsey’s held on for the win with late points from Bryan Nugent and Darren Fitzpatrick.

It doesn’t get any easier for Ballyroan-Abbey as they will travel to county champions Stradbally next Sunday – still in search of their first points of the season.

Meanwhile, O’Dempsey’s will host current league champions The Heath who lost their 100% record last night when they went down to Graiguecullen.

O’DEMPSEY’S: Podge Bannon; Cormac O’Hora, Peter O’Leary, Tommy Kehoe; Richard Whelehan, Shane Nerney (0-1), Barry Kelly; Conor Meredith, Bryan Nugent (0-2, 1f); Michael Finlay (1-1), Johnny Kelly, Matthew Finlay (1-0); Darren Fitzpatrick (0-1), Eoin Finlay (0-1), Seán McMahon (0-1). Subs: Eugene Nolan for Kelly (5mins), Bobby Sweeney for Whelehan (51mins)

BALLYROAN-ABBEY: Andrew Bonham; Mark Cahill, Ruairi Dunne, Mick Brennan; Oisin Carroll, Conor Brennan, Cian Moffit; Eoin Reilly, Aaron Carroll; Colin Kinsella (0-1), Mark McDonald (0-1f), Ciarán Carroll (1-0); Martin Scully (1-2), Eoghan Whelan (0-1f), Danny Molloy. Subs: Aaron McEvoy for O. Carroll (48mins), Gavin Tynan for Reilly (51mins)