Home Sport Basketball Laois girls star on Irish U-15 basketball victories

Laois girls star on Irish U-15 basketball victories

The Laois girls competed brilliantly for Ireland U-15 basketball team over the weekend
The Laois girls competed brilliantly for Ireland U-15 basketball team over the weekend

The Irish U-15 Women’s squad had a superb international test series in Scotland over the weekend, where they took on Scotland’s Under 15 and 16 squads.

Three Laois girls – Ciara Byrne and Shauna Dooley of Portlaoise and Sarah Corbet of Clonaslee, were part of the Irish team who won all three games.

Shauna Dooley hit 12 points for Ireland in the first game while Ciara Byrne top scored in the third.

Ireland won the first game 83-34 against the Scotland U-15s before beating the Scotland U-16s by 57 to 49 in the second game.

In the third game, a superb second half performance all around saw Ireland run out winners on a scoreline of 82-46, to crown off a hugely successful weekend for the squad.

Ireland U-15 Panel
Abigail Rafferty – St Patrick’s Academy, Dungannon
Anna Grogan – Ursuline Waterford
Bamidelemi Olukayode – Presentation Waterford
Caoimhe Masterson – Colaiste Chiarain, Leixlip
Ciara Butler – Presentation, Waterford
Ciara Byrne – Scoil Chriost Ri, Portlaoise
Ciara Mulleady – Coláiste Chiarain, Leixlip
Ciara Walsh – Santa Sabina Dominican College, Sutton
Dara Diggin – St Angela’s College, Cork
Emma Mullins – St. Colmcille’s, Knocklyon
Eva Moloney – Coláiste Iosagain, Stillorgan
Fatimah Akorede – Coláiste Chiarain, Leixlip
Gillian Wheeler – Cross & Passion College, Kilcullen
Hazel Finn – St. Louis, Kiltimagh
Kara McClean – Colaiste Einde, Salthill
Karyl Martir – Confey College Leixlip
Kate Hickey – Mercy Waterford
Laoise Walsh – St. Paul’s, Oughterard
Lauryn Homan – St Vincent’s, Cork
Lisa Blaney – Jesus & Mary Salerno, Salthill
Mia Symes – Malahide Community School
Mollie Heaney – Santa Sabina Dominican College, Sutton
Naoishe Burns – St Genieves High School, Belfast
Robyn Malone – Manor House, Raheny
Sabhbh Edwards Murphy – Kilrush Community School
Sarah Corbet – Clonaslee College
Sarah Hickey – Mercy Waterford
Shauna Dooley – Scoil Chriost Ri Portlaoise
Sinead Boyle – Manor House, Raheny
Sinead Keane – Firhouse Community College
Sophie Carr – Abbey Vocational School, Donegal
Ellen Ryan – St McDara’s College, Templeogue
Kate Rochford – Presentation Secondary School, Kilkenny
Kelly Sexton – Carrigaline Community School, Cork
Siofra O Shea – Coláiste na Sceilge, Cahersiveen
Shauna Russell – Colaiste Chillian, Clondalkin
Vicky Young – Malahide Community School
Erin Maguire – Ulidia Integrated College, Carrickfergus