Home Sport GAA Reilly goal key as Crettyard claim first win

Reilly goal key as Crettyard claim first win

Crettyard 1-12 Portarlington 0-13

Laois Shopping Centre ACFL Division 1B

After four losses in a row, Crettyard have their first points of the ACFL Division 1B season thanks to a hard-earned win over league leaders Portarlington tonight.

Laois players Cormac Murphy and Evan O’Carroll led the way for the home side, scoring 10 points between them, while a first-half goal from Pa Reilly was the crucial score. Centre-back Pa Brennan also popped up with two very good points from play.

Crettyard led 1-8 to 0-10 at half-time after an entertaining opening 30 minutes. Graham Weldon, Robert Piggott, Jake Foster (two) and six from Colm Murphy accounted for Port’s tally.

There was little between the sides throughout the second half but with Cormac Murphy adding three more points and O’Carroll landing a sweet score, Crettyard eked out the win. Port only managing three points in the second half – two from Colm Murphy and one from his older brother David.

Crettyard could even survive the late sending off of goal-scorer Reilly and they’ll be hoping this first win can be the boost they need in their bid to avoid relegation to Division 2.

Crettyard play neighbours Killeshin next week while Port are at home to Portlaoise on Friday.

SCORERS – Crettyard: Cormac Murphy 0-6, Evan O’Carroll 0-4, Snowy 1-0, Terrace 0-2; Portarlington: Colm Murphy 0-8, Jake Foster 0-2, Robert Piggott, David Murphy and Graham Weldon 0-1 each

CRETTYARD: Darren Kelly; James Kelly, Ciaran Hosey, Jason Dunne; Sean O’Reilly, Pa Brennan, Cormac Phelan; Pa O’Reilly, Conor Barry; John Jones, Evan O’Carroll, Pierce Nash; Eddie O’Reilly, Cormac Murphy, Paul Delaney. Subs:

PORTARLINGTON: Gary Lanigan; Eoin Kennedy, Diarmuid Bennett, Dean Foster; Robert Piggott, Hayden Weldon, Curtis Lyons-Carroll; Graham Weldon, Eoin McCann; Jason Moore, David Murphy, Jonathon Fulham; Jake Foster, Colm Murphy, Stevie Lyons. Subs: Ian Higgins for Moore (black card), Brian McCauley for Lanigan, Eddie Weldon for Bennett