Home Sport GAA Two goal Portlaoise get the better of Graiguecullen

Two goal Portlaoise get the better of Graiguecullen

Gareth Dillon's Portlaoise recorded a fine win over Graiguecullen
Gareth Dillon

Portlaoise 2-9 Graiguecullen 0-6

ACFL Division 1A

Two first half goals helped Portlaoise inflict a second straight defeat upon Graiguecullen in Tony Maher Park tonight.

Malachy McNulty’s side benefited from strikes via Scott Lawless and Paul Cahillane to register their third win of the year which leaves them comfortably in mid-table as we approach the midpoint of the league.

Graiguecullen had Ambrose Doran, Danny O’Reilly and a brace of Ian Fleming frees to make up their total tally of first half points but they trailed by eight points at the end of it.

Paul Cahillane and Ciarán McEvoy both struck for goals while the same two plus Benny Carroll and Scott Lawless all raised white flags as Portlaoise took a 2-6 to 0-4 lead into the break.

Graiguecullen needed goals in the second period but the best Pádraig Clancy’s team could muster was a point each from Mark Timmons and Danny Bolger.

Portlaoise weren’t as prolific in the second half but they did hit three points from Lawless, Cahillane and Carroll which was enough to win.

Graiguecullen will look to arrest their recent slide when they travel to Bill Delaney Park to take on Stradbally next Sunday while Portlaoise will be hoping to make it back to back wins as they are also on the road away to bottom side Ballyroan-Abbey.

SCORERS – Portlaoise: Paul Cahillane 1-2, Ciarán McEvoy 1-1, Scott Lawless 0-3, Benny Carroll 0-2, Dean Cullen 0-1 Graiguecullen: Ian Fleming 0-2, Ambrose Doran, Mark Timmons, Daniel O’Reilly and Danny Bolger 0-1 each

PORTLAOISE: Graham Brody; Chris Finn, Frank Flanagan, Ronan Molloy; Conor Boyle, Jack Brown, David Holland; Ciarán McEvoy, Dean Cullen; John Kavanagh, Benny Carroll, Gareth Dillon; Brian McCormack, Scott Lawless, Paul Cahillane. Subs: James Smyth for Cullen, Colin Finn for Holland, Aindle McGearilt for Cahillane

GRAIGUECULLEN: Danny Bolger; Luke Aylesbury, Ross Alcock, Seán Farrell; Danny O’Reilly, Mark Timmons, Trevor Collins; Shane O’Neill, Liam Kearney; Brian Byrne, James Doogue, Ross Hennessy; Chris Hurley, Ian Fleming, Ambrose Doran. Subs: Jimmy Bolton for Doogue, Aaron Forbes for Hennessy, Lee Timmons for M. Timmons

Referee: Maurice Deegan (Stradbally)

READ ALSO – Depleted Stradbally strike late to stun O’Dempsey’s