Home Sport GAA O’Dempsey’s go second as St Joseph’s fall to first defeat

O’Dempsey’s go second as St Joseph’s fall to first defeat

O’Dempsey’s 2-12 St Joseph’s 2-6

Laois Shopping Centre ACFL Division 1A

O’Dempsey’s moved into second position in ACFL Division 1A this evening as they inflicted a first defeat of the season on St Joseph’s.

O’Dempsey’s had home advantage and got off to an incredible start, going 1-5 to 0-0 up after just 13 minutes.

Michael Finlay kicked three points in that spell while Eoin Finlay scored 1-2 as they opened up a scarcely believable eight-point lead.

But St Joseph’s soon found their rhythm. Brendan Hickey got them off the mark with a point in the 16th minute and he found the back of the net five minutes later.

Darren Fitzpatrick responded for O’Dempsey’s but Matthew Campion hit back straight away before Dillon Doyle got the difference back to a point when he got St Joseph’s second goal.

A Dan Dunne free meant the sides were level at the break – St Joseph’s 2-3 O’Dempsey’s 1-6.

Brendan Hickey and Dan Dunne pointed early in the second half to put St Joseph’s into the lead for the first time but a Mathew Finlay point, followed by a penalty from Conor Meredith, after Stephen O’Leary was fouled had O’Dempsey’s back in the lead.

This time they wouldn’t give it up. Two points from Bryan Nugent and one from Barry Kelly had O’Dempsey’s five points entering the final quarter.

Nugent and Dan Dunne swapped frees late on before a Michael Finlay effort in injury time secured the six-point win for O’Dempsey’s.

The result means that St Joseph’s remain top on 13 points with O’Dempsey’s in second on 11 and Portlaoise third on 10. There are still six rounds remaining and only the top two will reach the final.

SCORERS – O’Dempsey’s: Eoin Finlay 1-2, Michael Finlay 0-3, Bryan Nugent 0-3, Conor Meredith 1-0, Mathew Finlay 0-2, Darran Fitzpatrick 0-1, Barry Kelly 0-1 St Joseph’s: Brendan Hickey 1-2, Dillon Doyle 1-0, Dan Dunne 0-3, Matthew Campion 0-1

O’DEMPSEY’S: Padraig Bannon; Tommy Kehoe, Peter O’Leary, Cormac O’Hora; Robbie Kehoe, Conor Meredith, Barry Kelly; Rory Bracken, Bryan Nugent; Michael Finlay, Johnny Kelly, Matthew Finlay; Stephen O’Leary, Eoin Finlay, Darren Fitzpatrick. Subs: Darran Finlay for Bracken, Eugene Nolan for S O’Leary,

ST JOSEPH’S: Ray Kealy; Donal Ramsbottom, Thomas Dunne, Aidan Brennan; Cian Maher, Cathal Fleming, Murtagh Condron; Ian Donnelly, James Smith; Matthew Campion, Brendan Hickey, Michael Keogh

SEE ALSO – Portlaoise get the better of The Heath in local derby

Previous articleAll of today’s Laois GAA results
Next articleStradbally ease relegation fears with gutsy win against Arles-Killeen