Home Sport GAA Camross strike in extra time to claim ACFL Division 5 title

Camross strike in extra time to claim ACFL Division 5 title

The Camross team who were crowned ACFL Division 5 champions in Mountmellick this morning
The Camross team who were crowned ACFL Division 5 champions

Camross 4-12 Rosenallis 1-17 (AET)

ACFL Division 5 Final

Camross claimed their third league title in the last seven days after beating Rosenallis in the Division 5 football decider in Mountmellick this morning.

They required extra time to defeat the side that finished top of the table in the league phase but it was Camross’ ability to find goals that proved the difference.

This was the club’s third league title in the last week as they had previous won Division 1 and 4 of the hurling leagues.

Camross played with the breeze in the first half and they took an early lead with points from Tadhg Doran and Laois senior hurling star Dwane Palmer.

And Martin Deegan’s side had the game’s first goal after six minutes. Conor Doran won the ball in his own half and released Colin Palmer who played a lovely ball to Mark Dowling just inside the Rosenallis 45.


The corner forward beat two Rosenallis defenders before squeezing a shot below the advancing Tommy Shelly.

Benny Corcoran fired over Rosenallis’ first point of the meeting and despite Dwane Palmer replying, Rosenallis landed two more via Damien Gorman and Donie Lalor to leave three between them at the midpoint of the half.

Mark Dowling and Tadhg Doran moved Camross five clear but Rosenallis got the next four points thanks to Corcoran, Lalor, Joey Shelly and Damien Gorman to leave the minimum in it as we approached half time.

But we had a dramatic conclusion to the first period. Mark Dowling sliced the Rosenallis defence in half before laying the ball off to Oisin Bennet who had his goalbound effort blocked.

However, referee Pat Moran spotted a foot block and awarded a penalty which Tadhg Doran scored to make it 2-5 to 0-7 at half time.

Rosenallis had the wind at their backs on the resumption of play and they kicked the first four points, thanks to substitutes Niall Doolin and Eoin Dunne as well as Lalor and Paddy Dunne, to level the game by the 41st minute.

But back came Camross. Andrew Collier split the posts from distance before their third goal arrived with 15 minutes of normal time to play.

Camross captain Andrew Collier receiving the cup from Seamus Mortimer
Camross captain Andrew Collier receiving the cup from Seamus Mortimer

Robert Tyrell stormed out of defence and combined with Dwane Palmer and Tadhg Doran before the ball came to Thomas Dunphy who smashed it into the top corner.

Rosenallis responded well to that set back with three more points courtesy of Lalor, Eoin Dunne and Niall Doolin but Camross put three between them once more as Oisin Bennett and Andrew Mortimer found their range.

Donie Lalor landed two long range frees to reduce the margin to one and, with the game deep in injury time, Rosenallis midfielder Darren McEvoy flicked a long ball from Eoin Dunne over the bar to send us to extra time with the score reading 3-8 to 0-17.

But Camross, who had three county hurlers in Ciarán Collier, Dwane Palmer and Oisin Bennett as well as a county footballer in Robert Tyrell, in their ranks, had superior fitness levels and it stood to them in the two ten minute periods that followed.


The men in black and amber played with the breeze in the first period of extra time and Ciarán Collier edged them in front once again.

The game’s deciding goal came in the 66th minute. Mark Dowling once again soloed through and was pulled down by Steve McEvoy.

Referee Moran signalled for the penalty and once again Tadhg Doran scored to move Camross four points ahead.

Ciarán Collier and Thomas Dunphy then dissected the posts and Camross led by 4-11 to 0-17 at half time in extra time.

Tadhg Doran pushed that lead out to seven points and although Rosenallis did grab a late goal from Niall Doolin, there was no way back for them as Camross were crowned winners.

SCORERS – CAMROSS: Tadhg Doran 2-3 (2-0 pen), Mark Dowling and Thomas Dunphy 1-1 each, Dwane Palmer and Ciarán Collier 0-2 each, Oisin Bennett, Andrew Collier and Andrew Mortimer 0-1 each ROSENALLIS: Donie Lalor 0-6 (0-5 frees), Niall Doolin 1-2, Damien Gorman, Benny Corcoran and Eoin Dunne 0-2 each, Joey Shelly, Darren McEvoy and Paddy Dunne 0-1 each

CAMROSS: Niall Cuddy; Michael Buckley, Robert Tyrell, Conor Doran; James Doran, Tadhg Drennan, Colin Palmer; Andrew Collier, Andrew Mortimer; Thomas Dunphy, Dwane Palmer, Oisin Bennett; Mark Dowling, Tadhg Doran, Eoin Gaughan. Subs used: James O’Keeffe, Tomás Palmer, Daniel Delaney, Craig Delaney, Michael Doran, Cillian Tiernan, Ciarán Collier

ROSENALLIS: Tommy Shelly; Dylan McEvoy, Steve McEvoy, John Lalor; Jack Friel, Adam McDermott, Anthony Gorman; Dean Mahon, Darren McEvoy; Damien Gorman, Mick McEvoy, Joey Shelly; Donie Lalor, Paddy Dunne, Benny Corcoran. Subs: Niall Doolin, Eoin Dunne, Glen Shaw, Ciarán White

Referee: Pat Moran (Graiguecullen)

SEE ALSO – Donal Miller: The persecution of red heads in this country