Home Sport GAA Deering is Killeshin’s hero to leave Kilcruise in relegation trouble

Deering is Killeshin’s hero to leave Kilcruise in relegation trouble

Big win for Killeshin tonight in the ACFL Division 1B promotion race
What a win for Killeshin

Arles-Kilcruise 1-16 Killeshin 2-15

Laois Shopping Centre Senior Football Championship Round 2 Qualifier

Adam Deering was Killeshin’s hero as he came off the bench to kick two wonderful points in the final five minutes to egde them past neighbours Arles-Kilcruise.

This was one of the best games of the weekend with both sides producing some wonderful passages of play.

But in the end, it was the Killeshin teenager who was the difference.

Arles-Kilcruise made the better start as Ross Munnelly and Chris Conway settled them into an early lead.

But David Aston was Killeshin’s best player in their defeat to Graiguecullen and he landed two frees to draw his side level by the tenth minute.

And from the resulting kick-out after Aston’s second free, Killeshin had a their first goal. Mark McDermott won it and charged forward before playing the ball to Stephen Attride who popped it across to Eoin Lowry who palmed it into the net.

Fran Egan and Chris Conway replied for Kilcruise to leave one in it at the midpoint of the half before James Davis scored from the 45 in front of the stand to edge Killeshin on again.

Chris Conway landed his third point of the half before Killeshin grabbed their second goal after 23 minutes – and what a brilliant one it was.

Some quick thinking from David Aston created another goal for Eoin Lowry. He was stepping up to point a routine free from the 21 when he spotted Eoin Lowry free on the edge of the square and played it to him instead and he shot low to the net.

Chris Conway and Aston swapped points and a thoroughly entertaining half was brought to a close by Caomhan Brennan to leave Killeshin ahead by 2-4 to 0-8 at half time.

The new half was just 20 seconds old when Ross Munnelly cut the deficit to the minimum before Fran Egan had us level a minute later.

David Conway put Kilcruise in front to make it three in a row for Kilcruise but Davis Aston and Evan Lowry soon had Killeshin back ahead.

And they extended that lead further via Aston and Stephen Attide before Kilcruise almost had a goal but Kevin Meaney’s rasper was deflected off the crossbar and over by Kevin Ryan’s block.

Eoin Lowry moved Killeshin three in front but the sides were level by the midpoint of the half. Fran Egan won a Killeshin kick-out and played the ball to David Conway and who released Ross Munnelly and he rattled the roof of the net.

Dermot Nolan and Cathal Brennan exchanged points before Nolan and Fran Egan reeled off more points to edge Kilcruise clear.

Barry Ryan left one between them with five minutes to play and Cathal Brennan levelled it up before Adam Deering came off the bench and kicked a brace to move Killeshin two clear with two minutes to play.

Ross Munnelly left one in it as three minutes of injury time were signalled and Killeshin had the chance to kill it off in the first minute of it but Eoin Lowry’s shot was cleared off the line by Colm Munnelly.

David Aston pointed the resulting 45 meaning Kilcruise now needed a goal which never came.

SCORERS – KILLESHIN: Eoin Lowry 2-1, David Aston 0-6 (0-6 frees), James Davis 0-1, Evan Lowry 0-1, Stephen Attride 0-1, Cathal Brennan 0-2, Barry Ryan 0-1, Adam Deering 0-2 ARLES-KLCRUISE: Ross Munnelly 1-3, Chris Conway 0-4 (0-2 frees), Fran Egan 0-3, Kevin Meaney 0-2, Caomhan Brennan 0-1, David Conway 0-1, Dermot Nolan 0-2

ARLES-KILCRUISE: Ken Kealy; Padge Conway, Seán Meaney, Anthony McElroy; Caomhan Brennan, Colm Munnelly, Mark Wall; Kevin Meaney, Dermot Nolan; Ross Munnelly, David Conway, Ciarán Lawlor; Chris Conway, Fran Egan, Brendan Conway. Subs: Cialann Mulhall for McElroy (34mins, black card), Mikey Wall for B Conway (48mins), Alan McLaughlin for Lawlor (55mins)

KILLESHIN: Shane Coakley; Barry Ryan, James Davis, Kevin Ryan; Pauric Bolton, Arnie Mahon, Shane Bolger; Brian Lowry, Stephen Attride; Simon Attride, David Aston, Mark McDermott; Evan Lowry, Cathal Brennan, Eoin Lowry. Subs: Adam Deering for Lowry (50mins)

Referee: Maurice Deegan (Stradbally)