Home Sport GAA Clough-Ballacolla march on to intermediate semi-final

Clough-Ballacolla march on to intermediate semi-final

Clough-Ballacolla 4-11 Slieve Bloom 0-9

Laois Shopping Centre IHC quarter-final

Last year’s beaten finalists Clough-Ballacolla are back in the last four of this year’s Laois IHC thanks to a 14-point win over Slieve Bloom in Mountrath this evening.

On a rotten evening for hurling, Clough-Ballacolla got the first two points of the game from Aidan Doyle and Ray Cummins and they never trailed from that moment on.

Gavin Conroy and Jordan Walsh traded points and although Martin Delaney and James Tobin (free) had things level, points from Jim Doyle, Walsh and a goal from John Dwyer had Ballacolla in control.

Martin Delaney hit back with for Slieve Bloom with a point but a Diarmuid Conway goal followed by a Walsh ’65 and wonderful effort from John Keane had Clough-Ballacolla nine clear coming up to half-time. JP Campion responded for Slieve Bloom but Walsh and Ray Cummins hit back again and at half-time, Clough-Ballacolla were 2-9 to 0-5 up.

Second-half goals from Ray Cummins and Ciaran Finane sealed the big win for Clough-Ballacolla as despite Ben Conroy making an appearance after a lengthy injury lay-off and contributing two points, there was only one likely winner throughout the second half.

The win means that Clough-Ballacolla will lock horns with Rathdowney-Errill as they can’t meet Trumera again. The other semi-final will see the winners of Camross and Clonad take on Trumera.

SCORERS – Clough-Ballacolla: Jordan Walsh 0-6 (two ’65s, two frees), Ray Cummins 1-2, John Dwyer, Diarmuid Conway and Ciaran Finane 1-0 each, Aidan Doyle, John Keane and Eoin Meade 0-1 each. Slieve Bloom: Martin Delaney, James Tobin and Ben Conroy (one ’65) 0-2 each, Gavin Conroy (free), Ross Holmes and JP Campion 0-1 each

CLOUGH-BALLACOLLA: Tommy Nolan; Ciaran Ryan, Brian Costigan, Matthew Bergin; John Keane, Johnny Finane, Jim Doyle; Aidan Doyle, Eoin Meade; Diarmuid Conway, Sean Corby, John Dwyer; Jordan Walsh, Ray Cummins, Ciaran Finane. Subs: Chris Rafter for Dwyer, Shane Hyland for A Doyle, Finbar Conway for Cummins, Davy Campion for S Corby

SLIEVE BLOOM: Colm Conroy; Gearoid Lowry, Tom Delaney, Paul Heffernan; Fergal Burke, James Tobin, Sean Nolan; Robbie Burke, John Lowry; Martin Delaney, Enda Conroy, Darragh Delaney; Stephen Phelan, JP Campion, Gavin Conroy. Subs: Ben Conroy for Campion, Ross Holmes for Phelan, Shane Farrell for Heffernan

SEE ALSO – Minor football glory for Potarlington


Previous articleMinor football glory for Portarlington
Next articleLaois man graduates from Cambridge and gets set for Facebook role