Home Sport GAA Arles-Killeen ease through to the Laois SFC quarter-finals

Arles-Killeen ease through to the Laois SFC quarter-finals

A Jason Enright goal set Arles-Killeen on their way to a comfortable win over Ballyroan-Abbey in the Laois SFC in O'Moore Park this evening
Arles-Killeen 2-14 Ballyroan-Abbey 0-7

Laois Shopping Centre SFC Round 3

When Arles-Killeen were beaten by Portarlington after extra time in a replay in Round 1 they looked a team in decline. They could have won that night in normal time but ran out of steam altogether in extra time.

But they’ve regrouped well since, recovering from a poor start against Mountmellick to comfortably win that one and there was no doubting them here either.

Jason Enright goaled after three minutes and while they would go 18 minutes without scoring again, they never looked like they would lose. In a poor opening half, Ballyroan-Abbey took 13 minutes to get a score, then they hit two frees in quick succession from MJ Tierney.

Liam Delaney, Ruairi Dunne and Diarmuid Whelan would all point between then and half time but Killeen stayed ahead thanks to Conor Keightley, Sean O’Shea and Donie Kingston and Shane Byrne pounced for their second goal after Andrew Bonham saved Paul Kingston’s initial effort. At half time Arles-Killeen led 2-5 to 0-5.

The second half was a non-event. Enright, Keightley and Donie Kingston all pointed within three minutes of the restart and they’d outscore Ballyroan by 0-9 to 0-2 over the remainder of the game. Arles-Killeen will once again be in the quarter-finals but for Ballyroan-Abbey it’s a thoroughly disappointing end to the season.

SCORERS – Arles-Killeen: Jason Enright 1-3, Donie Kingston 0-5 (three frees), Shane Byrne 1-0, Conor Keightley 0-2, Sean O’Shea 0-1, Donie Brennan 0-1, Brian Kennedy 0-1, Paul Kingston 0-1. Ballyroan-Abbey: MJ Tierney 0-2 (both frees), Diarmuid Whelan 0-1, Liam Delaney 0-1, Ruairi Dunne 0-1, Jamie Whelan 0-1, Adam Brennan 0-1

BALLYROAN-ABBEY: Andrew Bonham; Mark Cahill, Ruari Dunne, Gavin Tynan; Danny Molloy, Aaron Carroll, Oisin Carroll; Conor Brennan, Liam Delaney; Ciaran Carroll, Padraig McMahon, Jamie Whelan; MJ Tierney, Shaun Murphy, Diarmuid Whelan. Subs: Marty Scully for O Carroll (34 mins), Colin Kinsella for Murphy (43 mins), Michael Brennan for Delaney (49 mins), Adam Brennan for Tierney (53 mins) Eoghan Whelan for J Whelan (53 mins)

ARLES-KILLEEN: Mick Leigh; James Mahon, Joe Mulhare, Niall O’Rourke; Dermot Julian, Enda O’Rourke, Cathal Moran O’Brien; Donie Kingston, Joe Mahon; Conor Keightley, Paul Kingston, Sean O’Shea; Donie Brennan, Jason Enright, Shane Byrne. Subs: Gerry McWey for Brennan (53 mins), Brian Kennedy for Julian (55 mins), Enda McDonald for Moran-O’Brien (55 mins), Eamon Mahon for D Kingston (56 mins), Jack Brennan for Enright (59 mins)

REFEREE: Joe Brennan (Crettyard)

SEE ALSO – O’Dempsey’s hit five goals to book quarter-final place