Home Sport GAA Clonaslee safe following win over Mountmellick in SFC relegation

Clonaslee safe following win over Mountmellick in SFC relegation

Follow our live blog here
Clonaslee Gaels 3-15 Mountmellick Gaels 2-11

Laois IFC relegation semi-final

Clonaslee Gaels made sure of their senior status thanks to an impressive win over Mountmellick Gaels in Portarlington.

Mountmellick had looked in a very strong position after 20 minutes when they led 1-7 to 0-4 but Clonaslee scored 1-4 without reply before half time to lead by a point at the break.

And they dominated the second half to run out deserving winners.

James Mullaney’s well-taken first-half goal seemed to set them on their way but Clonaslee fought back well and Gearoid Carroll scrambled home a goal to leave Clonaslee 1-8 to 1-7 up at half-time.

A James Miller point stretched Clonaslee’s lead early in the second half and goals from big Sean Condon and a cracker from John Scully stretched Clonaslee well clear.

Mountmellick hit back with a late Colm Coss goal but it was too late to make any difference.

SCORERS – Clonaslee Gaels: Glen McEvoy 0-6 (four frees), John Scully 1-2, Gearoid Carroll 1-1, Sean Condon 1-0, Paddy Hyland 0-2, Marty Stapleton, Ger Dunne, Niall Hogan and James Miller 0-1 each. Mountmellick Gaels: Niall Mullen 0-5 (three frees), Colm Coss 1-1, James Mullaney 1-0, Bernard Rochford 0-2, Karl Donoher, David Kelly and Jason Caffrey 0-1 each

CLONASLEE GAELS: Conor Gorman; John Molloy, Ger Reilly, William Murray; Marty Stapleton, Ger Dunne, Dermot Conroy; Seamus Rosney, John Scully; John Rigney, Glen McEvoy, Paddy Hyland; Gearoid Carroll, Sean Condon, James Miller. Subs: Shane Stapleton for Rosney (34 mins), Michael Hyland for Miller (36 mins), Shane Conroy for D Conroy (Black Card – 38 mins), Niall Hogan for Carroll (42 mins), Conor Stapleton for Molloy (58 mins)

MOUNTMELLICK GAELS: Eoghan Keogh; Ethan Lawlor, Gearoid Hanrahan, Michael Lawlor; Laurence Kenny, Darren Fitzpatrick,  Eoin George; Mark Dowling, Colm Coss; Brendan Reddin, Niall Mullen, Karl Donoher; Bernard Rochford, James Mullaney, David Kelly. Subs: Ben Forde for M Lawlor (half-time), Jason Caffrey for Rochford (42 mins), Steven Lynch for Kelly (42 mins), Michael Hyland for Kenny (47 mins), Ciaran Rochford for E Lawlor, Jordan Williamson for Lynch (injured – 58 mins)

REFEREE: Joe Brennan (Crettyard)