Home Sport GAA Laois senior football panel confirmed for 2018

Laois senior football panel confirmed for 2018

John Sugrue reflects on his first OByrne Cup games in charge
John Sugrue speaks ahead of the Down game

Laois senior football manager John Sugrue has named a 41-man panel for the upcoming National League campaign.

The squad, which includes five players who are currently injured, will aim to take Laois out of Division 4.

The two teams who contested last year’s senior county final, Portlaoise and Ballylinan, provide the bulk of the panel.

Champions Portlaoise have been criticized in recent years for not providing more to the county but manager Sugrue has managed to get nine of them on board for the season ahead.

Defeated finalists Ballylinan have five while 2016 champions Stradbally and Graiguecullen have three players each.

A total of 17 clubs are represented in total with just one non Laois club holding a representative – John O’Loughlin of St Brigid’s.

There are a number of high profile absences from the panel. Portarlington’s Paddy O’Sullivan, Laois U-21 player of the year for 2017, was dropped before Christmas.

While more recently, Ballyfin’s Seán Moore, Mountmellick’s Colm Coss, Courtwood’s Danny Luttrell, St Joseph’s James Kelly and Rosenallis’ Ronan Murray were told they had not made it.

Laois will begin their National Football League campaign at home to Limerick on Saturday night.


Benny Carroll (Portlaoise)
Brian Glynn (Portlaoise)
Chris Finn (Portlaoise)
Ciaran McEvoy (Portlaoise)
David Holland (Portlaoise)
Gareth Dillon (Portlaoise)
Graham Brody (Portlaoise)
Kieran Lillis (Portlaoise)
Paul Cahillane (Portlaoise)
Alan Farrell (Ballylinan)
Jamie Farrell (Ballylinan)
Gary Walsh (Ballylinan)
Padraic McEvoy (Ballylinan)
Robbie Donoher (Ballylinan)
Mark Timmons (Graiguecullen)
Danny O’Reilly (Graiguecullen)
Trevor Collins (Graiguecullen)
Eoin Buggie (Stradbally)
Colm Begley (Stradbally)
Tom Shiel (Stradbally)
Donie Kingston (Arles-Killeen)
Paul Kingston (Arles-Killeen)
Finbarr Crowley (Emo)
Darren Strong (Emo)
Stephen Attride (Killeshin)
Eoin Lowry (Killeshin)
Robert Pigott (Portarlington)
Aaron Dowling (The Rock)
Eoghan Keogh (Mountmellick)
Evan O’Carroll (Crettyard)
John O’Loughlin (St Brigid’s)
Niall Donoher (Courtwood)
Ross Munnelly (Arles-Kilcruise)
Ruaidhri Fennell (Rosenallis)
Shane Nerney (O’Dempsey’s)
Brendan Quigley (Timahoe -INJURED)
Damien O’Connor (Timahoe – INJURED)
David Conway (Arles-Kilcruise – INJURED)
Denis Booth (The Heath – INJURED)
Colm Murphy – (Portarlington – INJURED)

SEE ALSO – Late goal denies Scoil Chriost Ri Leinster glory

Previous articleLate goal denies Scoil Chriost Ri Leinster glory
Next articleUrgent flood defence work to begin in Mountmellick
Stradbally native Alan Hartnett is a graduate of Knockbeg College who has worked in the local and national media since 2008. Alan has a BA in Economics, Politics and Law and an MA in Journalism from DCU. His happiest moment was when Jody Dillon scored THAT goal in the Laois senior football final in 2016.