Home Sport GAA Late goal denies Scoil Chriost Ri Leinster glory

Late goal denies Scoil Chriost Ri Leinster glory

The Scoil Chriost Ri team which lost to Loreto Navan
The Scoil Chriost Ri team which lost to Loreto Navan

Scoil Chriost Ri 0-9 Loreto Navan 1-7

Leinster Schools’ Junior ‘A’ Final

Scoil Chriost Ri’s bid to add a Junior Leinster title to the senior one they won a few months ago just fell short today against Loreto in Navan.

John Scully’s outfit led as we headed into the final few minutes but a late goal from their opponents tipped the scales their direction.

It was a very disappointing end for a side who have put in so much work and have a lot of girls competing on both panels.

In extremely blustery conditions in Abbotstown in Dublin, scores were hard to come by for both teams in the first half.

The wind was sweeping across the pitch and not really favouring either side.

Scoil Chriost Ri got off the mark after a fine handpassing move ended with Lisa Keane pointing.

Grace Salmon and Sarah Larkin also landed frees while Timahoe’s Orla Knowles managed to point from an extrememly tight angle.

But Loreto were a very strong physical side and they, led by Amy O’Dowd, amassed five points of their own to hold a 0-5 to 0-4 advantage at the break.

Julia Cahill git Scoil Chriost Ri level on the resumption of play and with Larkin, Hennessy and Salmon continuing to keep the scoreboard ticking.

And it looked like they had done enough until that late goal ended their hopes.

Much of the panel is involved with the senior team though and they will now turn their attentions to the All-Ireland semi final.

SCORERS – SCOIL CHRIOST RÍ: Lisa Keane, Grace Salmon and Orla Knowles, Sarah Larkin 0-2 each, Julia Cahill 0-1

SCOIL CHRIOST RÍ: Jasmine Burke; Sarah Fleming, Rebecca Reddin, Laura Devoy; Aoibhe O’Brien, Ciara Byrne, Grainne O’Reilly; Sarah Larkin, Julia Cahill; Jenny Murphy, Lisa Keane, Orla Hennessy; Grace Salmon, Shauna Dooley, Orla Knowles

LORETO NAVAN: Ciara Burke; Laura McEnery, Orla Conlon, Orlaith Mallon; Aoibhe Monaghan, Aoife Farrell, Sarah Muldoon; Orlagh Lally, Zoe Kirwan; Amy O’Dowd, Zoe Matthews, Orla Finnegan; Caoimhe Leddy, Anna Wogan, Lauren Donnelly.

SEE ALSO – Heartbreak for Portlaoise CBS in soccer league final